LibGuides: Theatre Research Guide: Selected Indexes to Creative Works

Selected Indexes to Creative Works

To search for plays with a known title go to the Library Home Page (https://lib.msu.edu/) and use the Books and Media link. Be sure to do a title search and then scroll down and on left side of screen check box that limits to Catalog Only.

Also:

Play Index This link opens in a new window
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present in the convenient electronic form that patrons prefer. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type.
New Play Exchange This link opens in a new window
The New Play Exchange ® (NPX) is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. The NPX, a National New Play Network program, is flipping the script on the ways in which new work is shared and discovered. National New Play Network (NNPN) is an alliance of professional theaters that collaborate in innovative ways to develop, produce, and extend the life of new plays.
Theatre in Video vol. I This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Awake and Sing, Dom Juan, Bérénice, Long Day's Journey Into Night, Playboy of the Western World, Krapp's Last Tape, and the complete works of Shakespeare as produced by the BBC and other theatrical companies. Notable actors include Claire Bloom, Laurence Olivier, Colleen Dewhurst, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren and more. Instructors and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues and staging, and these landmark performances can become a permanent part of the curriculum.
Theatre in Video vol. II This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II provides access to valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Classic and contemporary productions in live-capture and audio formats, many exclusive to Digital Theatre+, or brought to you from world-class partners such as Shakespeare’s Globe, BroadwayHD and the BBC.
Nick Hern Books Modern Plays This link opens in a new window
The Nick Hern Books Modern Plays collection includes over 720 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights, as well as exciting new voices. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays, and is continually updated with new works fresh from leading theatres.