Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Primary Resources in English and American Literature and History
Much of this is repeated in Period Resources guide.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Contains digital versions of 150,000 works published or printed from
1701-1800 in England, and other English-speaking places around the
world (including the rest of the British Isles, the American colonies,
and the early United States). Look here to find full texts of primary
source materials in history, geography, literature, language, religion,
philosophy, social science, fine arts, music, architecture, medicine,
science, technology, and law, as well as general reference works from
the 18th century. MSU owns some of the microfilm set from which the
database has been made, called The Eighteenth Century (call number
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
EEBO, Early English Books Online, provides digital access to
the citations, texts, and illustrations of 106,639 works from
- Early American Imprints
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is the
definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th-
and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign
affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War,
temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. This
resource consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets, and broadsides.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is a gateway, or portal, into
a variety of primary sources for 19th Century studies, especially of
the British Isles. Each resource or database may also be
- Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an
archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts,
humanities and social sciences.
It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
"(Women and Social Movements) is intended to serve as a resource for
students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history.
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates
and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of
women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities,
colleges, and high schools. The database includes more than 25,000
pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements, a
dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S.
women's history, and teaching tools with lesson ideas and
document-based questions related to the website's document projects."
- Black Thought and Culture
Approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles,
speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community
from the earliest times to 1975. The collection is intended for
research in black studies, political science, American history, music,
literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick
Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter
G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington,
Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Ralph
Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis, Houston
Baker, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, and many others.
ARTstor is a digital image database containing approximately 400,000
images. Images are grouped into collections and represent the canon of
art history (as defined by major art history survey texts) as well as
specialized collections such as the MoMA Architecture and Design
Collection and the Huntington Archive of Asian Art.