Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources for Finding Criticism
Criticism: Overviews and Yearly Bibliographies
Within the Gale Literature Resource Center is contained most (but not all) of Gale's series on the history of criticism, including: CLASSICAL & MEDIEVAL LITERATURE CRITICISM, CONTEMPORARY LITERARY CRITICISM, DRAMA CRITICISM, POETRY CRITICISM, LITERARY CRITICISM FROM 1400 TO 1800, as well as the volumes for the 18th, 19th, and 20th Centuries (also in Reference). You must use the Advanced Search to get best results.
- Literature Criticism Online
This is the full backfile of Gale collections: CLASSICAL AND MEDIEVAL LITERATURE CRITICISM, LITERATURE CRITICISM FROM 1400 TO 1800, NINETEENTH CENTURY LITERATURE CRITICISM, AND SHAKESPEAREAN CRITICISM.
- MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco) An index of scholarly books and articles on the literature of all languages, film studies, folklore, book history, Theatre, and other topics (indexes 1923 to current).
- ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature): Same scope as MLAIB, only English-language only.
- Dictionary of LIterary Biography : Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts. This database was initiated by the American Society for Theatre Research, and since 1984, the Theatre Research Data Center (TRDC) at Brooklyn College has published 14 volumes of the IBTD. These volumes comprise a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.