Journalism Research Guide: Getting Started

Core reference source for key concepts, theories, and methodologies in international journalism studies.

This second edition of The Handbook of Journalism Studies explores the current state of research in journalism studies and sets an agenda for future development of the field in an international context. The volume is structured around theoretical and empirical approaches to journalism research and covers scholarship on news production; news content; journalism and society; journalism and culture; and journalism studies in a global context.

"The focus of the entries is on the gathering, editing, reporting, and distribution of news."

Includes Encyclopedia of Communication Theory, 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook, Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media, the Encyclopedia of New Media and many more.
Sage also has a selection of reference works on Research methodologies.

Historical Guide to World Media Freedom... brings together comprehensive historical data on media freedom since World War II. It provides consistent and comparable measures of media freedom in all independent countries for the years 1948 to the present. The work also includes country-by country summaries, analyses of historical and regional trends in media freedom, and extensive reliability analyses of media freedom measures.

The Historical Dictionary of Journalism relates how journalism has evolved over the centuries. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the different styles of journalism, the different types of media, and important writers and editors.