Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Changes in Fall 2022 Services
- We have made many changes to our air filtration, furniture and services to optimize your safety.
- You may request books through the catalog -look for the Get it! button- to be shipped to your home or picked up at the Circulation Desk counter; our online guide to library support for Online and Distance Learning Resources will help you be productive
- Please contact me with questions at firstname.lastname@example.org
- 24/7 Reference Assistance is still available using our Ask A Librarian Chat.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Handbooks and guides to quantitative and qualitative social science research methods including surveys, interviewing, focus groups, content analysis and more.
Literature Review Process
Click here to open
Courtesy of the University of North Carolina State University Libraries
Key Reference Works
Reference sources can help you:
- Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
- Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
- Find references to other books and articles on the subject
- Find specific keywords to use in online searches
The State of the News Media
Fact sheets showcasing the most important current and historical data points for each media sector from the Pew Research Center’s Project for Excellence in Journalism.
The Handbook of Journalism Studies by
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
This second edition of The Handbook of Journalism Studies explores the current state of research in journalism studies and sets an agenda for future development of the field in an international context. The volume is structured around theoretical and empirical approaches to journalism research and covers scholarship on news production; news content; journalism and society; journalism and culture; and journalism studies in a global context.
Encyclopedia of Journalism by
Publication Date: 2009
"The focus of the entries is on the gathering, editing, reporting, and distribution of news."
Sage Communication and Media Studies Handbooks
Includes Encyclopedia of Communication Theory, 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook, Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media, the Encyclopedia of New Media and many more.
Sage also has a selection of reference works on Research methodologies.
Historical Guide to World Media Freedom by
Publication Date: 2014-06-18
Historical Guide to World Media Freedom... brings together comprehensive historical data on media freedom since World War II. It provides consistent and comparable measures of media freedom in all independent countries for the years 1948 to the present. The work also includes country-by country summaries, analyses of historical and regional trends in media freedom, and extensive reliability analyses of media freedom measures.
Historical Dictionary of Journalism by
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
The Historical Dictionary of Journalism relates how journalism has evolved over the centuries. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the different styles of journalism, the different types of media, and important writers and editors.
More questions? Contact me!