Skip to Main Content
MSU Libraries
Research Guides
Need help?
Ask Us
Michigan State University Libraries
LibGuides
Research Guides
Military and Naval Biography: Resources in the MSU Libraries
United States
Search this Guide
Search
Military and Naval Biography: Resources in the MSU Libraries: United States
Home
By Country or Region
Toggle Dropdown
United States
By War
Toggle Dropdown
Indian Wars, 1600-1895
American Revolution, 1775-1783
War of 1812
Mexican-American War, 1846-1848
American Civil War, 1861-1865
World War I, 1914-1918
World War II, 1939-1945
Vietnam War, 1961-1975
General Sources
African Americans in the military
Print resource.
America's military adversaries : from colonial times to the present
American military leaders
CD-ROM.
Black American military leaders : a biographical dictionary
Dictionary of American Military Biography
Print resource.
Encyclopedia of American war heroes
Fallen in Battle: American General Officer Combat Fatalities from 1775
Print resource.
Four stars : the super stars of United States military history
Secretaries of defense : a brief history, 1947-1985
Online and print resources.
Silver Star : Navy and Marine Corps gallantry in Iraq, Afghanistan, and other conflicts
Print resource.
Soldier-statesmen of the Constitution
Online and print resources.
Webster's American Military Biographies
Print resource.
U.S. Marine Corps
Commandants of the Marine Corps
Famous American Marines
Marine Corps oral history collection catalog
Records of living officers of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps:
Stars in the corps : movie actors in the United States Marines
U. S. Marine Corps biographical dictionary; the corps' fighting men, what they did, where they served
United States Marine Corps generals of World War II : a biographical dictionary
Print resource.
U.S. Air Force
American airpower biography : a survey of the field
Microfiche source.
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Air Force
Print resource.
Makers of the United States Air Force
Online and print resource.
Stars in flight : a study in Air Force character and leadership
U.S. Navy
Admirals of the new steel navy : makers of the American naval tradition, 1880-1930
African American men and opportunity in the Navy : personal histories of eight chiefs
Print resource.
American Secretaries of the Navy
Print resources.
Black submariners in the United States Navy, 1940-1975
Print resource.
Captains of the old steam navy : makers of the American naval tradition, 1840-1880
Command under sail : makers of the American naval tradition, 1775-1850
Dictionary of admirals of the U.S. Navy
Print resource.
Famous American naval officers
Makers of naval tradition,
Online and print resource.
Messman chronicles : African Americans in the U.S. Navy, 1932-1943
Preble's boys; Commodore Preble and the birth of American sea power
Quarterdeck and bridge : two centuries of American naval leaders
Records of living officers of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps
U.S. Navy biographical dictionary
Print resource.
United States Navy chaplains, 1778-1945 : biographical and service-record sketches of 3,353 chaplains...
Voices of the Confederate Navy : articles, letters, reports, and reminiscences
Print resource.
American naval biography, comprising lives of the commodores, and other commanders distinguished in the history of the American navy
Online and microform resource.
Naval biography; or, Lives of the most distinguished American naval heroes of the present day
Microfilm resource.
U.S. Army
American generals of the Revolutionary War : a biographical dictionary
Print resource
Biographies of the commanding generals
Print resource. Army Material Command generals only.
Brave men and great captains
Commanding generals and chiefs of staff, 1775-1991 : portraits & biographical sketches of the United States Army's senior officer
Print resource.
Eleven generals; studies in American command
Generals
Heroes of three wars [
Online resource. Covers the Revolution, Mexican-American War, and the Civil War.
Historical register and dictionary of the United States Army, from its organization, September 29, 1789, to March 2, 1903.
Online and print resource.
List of officers of the army of the United States from 1779 to 1900
Online resource.
Mobility, vigilance, and justice : the US Army constabulary in Germany, 1946-1953
Print resource.
Nineteen stars : a study in military character and leadership
Pattons : a personal history of an American family
Secretaries of war and secretaries of the army : portraits & biographical sketches
Print and online resource.
United States Army, a historical dictionary
Print resource.
Military record of civilian appointments in the United States Army.
Online resource. From the early Republic to 1870.
<<
Previous:
By Country or Region
Next:
By War >>
