Business E-Reference: Accounting

This best-selling dictionary includes more than 3,600 entries covering all aspects of accounting, including financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, direct taxation, indirect taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. It boasts feature entries on key areas (e.g. Bankruptcy Law and the FTSE share indexes), and its international coverage includes important terms from UK, US, Australia, India, and Malaysia. 150 new entries have been added to this edition to reflect the very latest developments in the accounting profession, e.g. recent legislation, UK tax changes, and reliefs and allowances (e.g. Entrepreneurs' Relief, Annual Investment Allowance). In addition, coverage of taxation, personal finance, and audit has been increased and all entries have been revised to ensure they are up-to-date. With its authoritative and straightforward definitions and its wide-ranging coverage, this dictionary is essential for students and professionals in accounting and finance. It is also an ideal source of reference for anyone seeking a clear guide to the often-confusing world of accountancy terms.

Recognizing the increasing importance of environmental issues, energy prices, material availability and efficiency and the difficulty of adequately managing these issues in traditional accounting systems, several companies all over the world have started implementing "Environmental and Material Flow Cost Accounting" (EMA and MFCA). "Environmental and Material Flow Costs Accounting" explains and updates the approach developed for the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DSD/UNDESA) and the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) and in addition includes experiences of several case studies and recent developments regarding EMA and MFCA in national statistics and ISO standardization.

Volume one sets the context for all three volumes in the series. Volume two provides insights into research on different management accounting practices. This third and final volume features contributions from some of the most influential researchers in various areas of management accounting research, consolidates the content of volumes one and two, and concludes with examples of management accounting research from around the world. * Includes key topics such as performance measurement, balanced scorecard, incentives abd compensation schemes. * Covers management accounting research on a global scale.

The second edition of Dr. Demski "s book reflects his experiences teaching undergraduates, masters and doctoral students. He emphasizes economic fundamentals as the guiding foundation coupled with an artful application of those fundamentals. This applies to product costing, decision making and evaluation art. Dr. Demski has also removed a great deal of traditional minutiae, in order to keep this theme in constant focus. This thematic approach, in his experience, works in dramatic fashion, and stands in sharp contrast to more traditional presentations of this material. The book is not only for use as a textbook but also as a reference book.

Managers rarely get financial information the way they really need it. How can a nonfinancial manager minimize costs with the financial information he or she does get? By reading and absorbing this clear, concise new book. The Cost Management Toolbox lucidly explains how financial information -- especially information relating to costs -- is generated and reported in today's service and manufacturing organizations. Avoiding hard-to-grasp technicalities, it shows business professionals how to: -- Accurately determine how well their business is performing -- Quickly diagnose financial and operational problems -- Effectively evaluate new business propositions -- Confidently forecast future trends and project future costs -- Strategically plan and prepare a departmental budget -- Strictly analyze costs, including the rarely-discussed area of service costing.