LibGuides: Data Analysis: Quantitative Data Analysis Software

Page Contents

SPSS

Books on SPSS are categorized in the library catalog under the following subject heading classifications:

SPSS for Windows
SPSS Computer File

Online SPSS Tutorial

Resources to help you learn and use SPSS
This web site by UCLA provides resources to learn SPSS. It includes a SPSS Starter Kit, which has a movie tutorial or class showing SPSS in action. There are also more advanced resources.
IBM SPSS Support Home
Official support and documentation from IBM.

Sample titles from the library catalog:

Discovering statistics using SPSS by Field, Andy P.
Call Number: HA32 .F54 2009
"Written in his vivid and entertaining style, Andy Field provides students with everything they need to understand, use and report statistics-at every level-in the Third Edition of Discovering Statistics Using SPSS. Retaining the strong pedagogy from previous editions, he makes statistics meaningful by including playful examples from everyday student life (among other places), creating a gateway into the often intimidating world of statistics. In the process, he presents an opportunity for students to ground their knowledge of statistics through the use of SPSS." [publisher description]
Using IBM® SPSS Statistics for Research Methods and Social Science Statistics by William E. Wagner
Call Number: HA32 .W34 2013
ISBN: 9781452217703
Publication Date: 2013
"Ideal either as a companion to a traditional statistics or research methods text or as a stand-alone guide, Using SPSS for Research Methods and Social Statistics is a useful reference for those learning to use the SPSS software for the first time or those with only basic knowledge about SPSS. This student-friendly resource shows readers how to use images and directions drawn from SPSS Version 20 and now uses the latest version of the General Social Survey (GSS, 2010) as a secondary data set." [Publisher Description]
SPSS essentials: managing and analyzing social sciences data by John T. Kulas
Call Number: HA32 .K85 2009
"Written by a highly experienced researcher and teachers, this book provides a much-needed guide to the proper use of Statistical Package for the Social Sciences (SPSS) software in social research, particularly where data may not be presented in the most convenient way. The book focuses on data manipulations and covers the majority of real-world use of SPSS use. Among the book's many unique features are its 'syntax diary' method for organization of manipulations and analyses. Offers both novices and intermediate users a framework within which they can safely and comfortably work with SPSS." [publisher description]

Stata

Books on Stata are categorized in the library catalog under the following subject classifications:

Stata
Stata Handbooks Manuals Etc

Online Stata Tutorial:

Resources to help you learn and use Stata
This web site by UCLA provides resources to learn Stata. It includes a Stata Starter Kit, which has a movie tutorial or class showing Stata in action. There are also more advanced resources.

Sample titles from the library catalog:

A gentle introduction to Stata by Alan C. Acock
Call Number: HA32 .A26 2008
"Providing the basic collection of statistical procedures used by social scientists, A Gentle Introduction to Stata, Second Edition presents the fundamental tools to learn Stata. The book begins with showing how to enter and manage data as well as perform basic descriptive statistics and graphical analysis. It then examines standard statistical procedures from a t test, nonparametric tests, measures of association, multiple regression, and logical regression. The book ends with guidelines for future work and advanced topics. This learning source is an excellent introduction for those with little statistical software experience while also a useful reference for more knowledgeable statisticians by offering a detailed index of commands." [publisher description]
Data management using Stata: a practical handbook by Michael N. Mitchell
Call Number: QA276.45.S73 M5 2010
"Using simple language and illustrative examples, this book comprehensively covers data management tasks that bridge the gap between raw data and statistical analysis. Rather than focus on clusters of commands, the author takes a modular approach that enables readers to quickly identify and implement the necessary task without having to access background information first. Each section in the chapters presents a self-contained lesson that illustrates a particular data management task via examples, such as creating data variables and automating error checking. The text also discusses common pitfalls and how to avoid them and provides strategic data management advice. Ideal for both beginning statisticians and experienced users, this handy book helps readers solve problems and learn comprehensive data management skills." [publisher description]
The workflow of data analysis using Stata by J. Scott Long
Call Number: QA276.45.S73 L66 2009
"The Workflow of Data Analysis Using Stata, by J. Scott Long, is an essential productivity tool for data analysts. Long presents lessons gained from his experience and demonstrates how to design and implement efficient workflows for both one-person projects and team projects. After introducing workflows and explaining how a better workflow can make it easier to work with data, Long describes planning, organizing, and documenting your work. He then introduces how to write and debug Stata do-files and how to use local and global macros. After a discussion of conventions that greatly simplify data analysis the author covers cleaning, analyzing, and protecting data." [publisher description]

SAS

Books on SAS are categorized in the library catalog under the following subject classifications:

SAS (Computer file)
SAS (Computer program)
SAS (Computer program language)

Online SAS Tutorial:

Resources to help you learn and use SAS
This web site by UCLA provides resources to learn SAS. It includes a SAS Starter Kit, which has a movie tutorial or class showing SAS in action. There are also more advanced resources.

Sample titles from the library catalog:

The Little SAS Book by Lora Delwiche; Susan Slaughter
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781612903439
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Looks at the the basic concepts of the SAS software, covering such topics as DATA step, the PROC step, and statistical procedures.
SAS essentials: a guide to mastering SAS for research by Alan C. Elliott, Wayne A. Woodward
Call Number: QA276.4 .E423 2010 Online
"SAS Essentials provides an introduction to SAS statistical software, the premiere statistical data analysis tool for scientific research. Through its straightforward approach, the text presents SAS with step-by-step examples. With over fifteen years of teaching SAS courses and over fifty combined years of teaching and consulting by the authors, this valuable reference presents data manipulation and statistical techniques, including a website with examples. This textbook is essential for teachers because the chapters are self-contained and may be used accordingly to the teacher’s preference, whether for a one-semester or two-semesters course." [publisher description]
Using SAS for data management, statistical analysis, and graphics by Ken Kleinman, Nicholas J. Horton
Call Number: QA76.73.S27 K54 2011 Online
"A unique companion for statistical coders, Using SAS for Data Management, Statistical Analysis, and Graphics presents an easy way to learn how to perform an analytical task in SAS, without having to navigate through the extensive, idiosyncratic, and sometimes unwieldy software documentation. Organized by short, clear descriptive entries, the book covers many common tasks, such as data management, descriptive summaries, inferential procedures, regression analysis, multivariate methods, and the creation of graphics." [publisher description]

R

Books on R are categorized in the library catalog under the following subject classifications:

R (Computer program language)
R (Computer program language) -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.

Online R Tutorial:

R Workshop Materials
This guide from Rutgers University Libraries provides helpful materials to help you learn R, learning links, and other tips.
Resources to help you learn and use R
This web site by UCLA provides resources to learn R. It includes a R Starter Kit, which has a movie tutorial or class showing R in action. There are also more advanced resources.

Sample titles from the library catalog:

A beginner's guide to R by Alain F. Zuur, Elena N. Ieno, Erik H.W.G. Meesters
Call Number: QA276.45.R3 Z88 2009 Online
"The most common use of R is for statistical analysis. Zuur and Ieno (both, Highland Statistics Ltd., UK) and Meesters (Dutch Institute for Marine Resources and Ecosystem Studies, Netherlands) state that their experience in teaching R to life scientists has shown that teaching beginners R and statistics together is not a good teaching strategy. Thus, they focus on teaching the fundamentals of programming in R so that after acquiring a basic knowledge of R, learners can then proceed to use the language for statistical or other applications. The book has many admirable features. It introduces key commands in easy stages. Each chapter has a number of illustrative examples, lucidly explained, and ends with a review of what has been covered. Chapters also contain exercises at the end that reinforce the examples provided. The last chapter provides a very helpful list of common mistakes made by persons starting to learn R. This is a useful work for self-study or for an introductory course, allowing readers to apply their knowledge of the language to begin learning how to use R for statistical analysis or other purposes." [Choice Reviews]
Bare-bones R: a brief introductory guide by Thomas P. Hogan
Call Number: QA276.45.R3 H64 2010
"This text provides a practical, hands-on introduction to the elements of R and R Commander. Assuming no background in computer programming, author Thomas P. Hogan guides the novice in using these valuable tools for statistical analysis. The book walks the reader through steps for downloading and then works through examples of basic statistical processing." [publisher description]
Data analysis and graphics using R: an example-based approach by John Maindonald and W. John Braun
Call Number: QA276.4 .M245 2010
"Discover what you can do with R! Introducing the R system, covering standard regression methods, then tackling more advanced topics, this book guides users through the practical, powerful tools that the R system provides. The emphasis is on hands-on analysis, graphical display, and interpretation of data. The many worked examples, from real-world research, are accompanied by commentary on what is done and why. The companion website has code and datasets, allowing readers to reproduce all analyses, along with solutions to selected exercises and updates. Assuming basic statistical knowledge and some experience with data analysis (but not R), the book is ideal for research scientists, final-year undergraduate or graduate-level students of applied statistics, and practicing statisticians, It is both for learning and for reference." [publisher description]

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Data Analysis: Quantitative Data Analysis Software

Page Contents

SPSS

Stata

SAS

R