LibGuides: BE 820-Research Methods in Biosystems Engineering: Article Research

Helpful MSU Links

MSU
Desire2Learn
Email
Current BAE Graduate Student Resources

MSU Libraries
Ask - A - Librarian services
IT Support
BrowZine and LibKey
Discover Main Library Spaces
Keeping-up with the Literature
MSU Print for Library printing
Plotter printing FAQs
Library MakeCentral Supplies List
Library FAQ search
Borrowing periods
Student-use Lockers
Book Carts: Book carts, for moving books within the building or to your car, may be checked out at the Circulation Desk.
Book Delivery: Book delivery is not an option for Graduate Students.

Requesting Articles

ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan Requests
ILLIAD is the Interlibrary loan system for articles, books, government documents, and other materials. It is used to process MARS and UBorrow requests, and for items not held at MSU Libraries. For questions about ILLIAD and placing requests, please consult the ILLIAD FAQs. First-time requesters will need to register and create a password, about a 2-3 minute process, after which you can begin immediately to place requests.

Articles - Refresher

Articles contain the most current information published in a field of study. The Library Catalog contains the journal titles to all of the print and electronic format journals to which we subscribe. The Catalog does not list the articles within the journals. Articles are in article databases.

Popular, Scholarly, and Trade Article Comparison Chart
A chart comparing the differences between these three article types.

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window
If you are still uncertain about the scholarly nature of a journal, you may look up the title or ISSN in the periodical database UlrichsWeb (Ulrich 's International Periodicals Directory). It contains subscription, publisher, ISSN and other information on 250,000 active and ceased serials worldwide: magazines, journals, annuals and more.

Article Databases

CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1910-
CAB covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, veterinary medicine and much more. Journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports and other sources from more than one country are scanned regularly for inclusion in the database.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available to engineers with 14 million records across 190 engineering disciplines. Available on Engineering Village, users get results that are consistently accurate. Relevant. Up-to-date. And easy to find. Compendex indexes 1,031 journals that contain articles-in-press. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including: Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering.
ASABE Technical Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to all American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Technical Library (ASABE) journals, standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks, and monographs beginning with 2001. ASABE's journals are refereed publications: Applied Engineering in Agriculture (vol.13/1997); Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health (vol.1/1995) ; Transactions of the ASABE (vol.40/1997); Biological Engineering (vol.1/2008)

ASABE Technical Library Contents - a cursory title list to many of the titles available in this database

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
1995-
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). It also contains electronic books. Coverage includes strong content in the physical sciences. Personalization options for table of contents alerts, saving searches, etc., are available.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) This link opens in a new window 1969- FSTA covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition, including basic food science, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering. Some 1800 publications in over 40 languages are scanned regularly, including journals, reviews, standards, legislation, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne launched its original aggregation, BioOne.1, with 40 titles in 2001. In January 2007 BioOne added BioOne.2, a complementary collection of 40 new titles. Now at maturity, BioOne Complete about 200 high-impact publications. BioOne.1 provides the scholarly community with a must-have collection of critical, high-quality titles across the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
1970-
Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources. Citations consist of journal articles, book chapters, monographs, conference proceedings, serials, technical reports, and other materials on a range of agricultural topics.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Biological Abstracts is a comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature. It covers the following fields: Botany, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Biochemistry, Evolutionary ecology, Kinseology, Neurology, and Toxicology. Coverage from 1926 to the present. Web of Science platform.

Agriculture Librarian

Suzanne Teghtmeyer

she/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Main Library
366 W. Circle Dr.
East Lansing, MI 48824
teghtmey@msu.edu

Orcid ID

Subjects: Agricultural, Food and Resource Economics, Agriculture

Additional Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window According to EBSCO, Environment Complete™ offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window 1785- GeoRef, produced by the American Geological Institute, indexes the world's literature in geology and the geosciences. Its over 1.7 million citations, many with abstracts, cover the geology of North America since 1785 and the geology of the rest of the world since 1933. It scans over 3,000 journals in 40 languages as well as books, maps, and reports. Most U.S. Geological Survey publications and many state geological surveys are indexed, as are U.S. and Canadian theses and dissertations.
GeoBASE This link opens in a new window GeoBASE is a broad interdisciplinary journal index for international development, the Earth sciences, ecology, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides current coverage of almost 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications, plus several thousand additional journal titles and books. GEOBASE contains over 1.4 million records from 1980 to present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window Anthropology is a core discipline covered by this database. Journal and book coverage draws significantly on the collection of the Library of the London School of Economics and Political Science. Over 50 percent of journals indexed are published outside the US or the UK; 25 percent of references are in languages other than English. Coverage dates back to 1951.
Pollution Abstracts This link opens in a new window 1981- Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field. Major areas of coverage include: Air Pollution, Marine Pollution, Freshwater Pollution, Sewage and Wastewater Treatment, Waste Management, Land Pollution, Toxicology and Health, Noise, Radiation, Environmental Action.

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

BE 820-Research Methods in Biosystems Engineering: Article Research