Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
US Forest Service
Search the Forest Service R&D publications catalog by author, title, publication year or keywords – or for those that are published in the Forest Service research series, by the station, series and number. Each publication comes with an abstract, citation information, and a link to download the full text document.
PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 42,709 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 1,346,186 citations. The Library will add about 20,000 citations each month. The new release also previews its directions for intended functionality and will serve as the foundation for further enhancements. Note that there is both citation-only and full-text content. Many of the citation-only items can be found at the MSU Libraries in subscribed content.
GeoTreesearch combines a keyword search of the full text publications in Treesearch with an interface that maps and filters publications based on the geographic locations mentioned in them. Focus on technical terms and zoom in to a specific area of interest to find exactly the information you want.
Forest Insects and Disease Leaflets, USFS
This is a numeric list to the U. S. Forest Service Forest Insects and Disease leaflets. The site links to those that are available online in PDF format. There is also a link to an alphabetized list, and the Eastern and the Western regional titles.
Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program
The Forest Inventory and Analysis (FIA) Program of the U.S. Forest Service provides the information needed to assess America's forests. FIA reports on status and trends in forest area and location; in the species, size, and health of trees; in total tree growth, mortality, and removals by harvest; in wood production and utilization rates by various products; and in forest land ownership
i-Tree is a state-of-the-art, peer-reviewed software suite from the USDA Forest Service that provides urban forestry analysis and benefits assessment tools. The i-Tree Tools help communities of all sizes to strengthen their urban forest management and advocacy efforts by quantifying the structure of community trees and the environmental services that trees provide. With a free registration, i-Tree Tools are in the public domain and are freely accessible.
Reforestation, Nurseries and Genetic Resources (RNGR) program
This web site was developed by the technical specialists of the Reforestation, Nurseries and Genetic Resources (RNGR) program whose mission is to supply people who grow forest and conservation seedlings with the very latest technical information, and to provide links to other organizations and individuals with similar interests.
Documents of Note
Many of the resources of the US Department of Agriculture touch on subjects relevant for forestry. See my Agriculture Research Guide to learn about publications and statistics of the USDA.
-- -- --
Natural Resources Conservation Service, National Forestry Handbook, title 190. February 2004.
The National Forestry Handbook (NFH) contains methodology, procedures, and related reference materials that assist NRCS personnel to implement the policies contained in the National Forestry Manual (NFM) relative to forestry and agroforestry technologies.
Note: pdf is 216 pages
Natural Resources Conservation Service, National Forestry Manual, September 1998.
The National Forestry Manual (NFM) describes forestry policy within the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and complements the General Manual.
Note: pdf is 200 pages