Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Forestry at MSU - Resources
MSU Extension - Forestry Area Of Expertise (AOE) Team
The Forestry Area Of Expertise (AOE) Team is an organization of university and county extension staff working to help private landowners, industry, and communities improve the management and conservation of forest resources through education, outreach programs and research. AoE team members are involved in all aspects of traditional forestry, urban forestry, social and economic issues in resource management, conservation, research, and education.
University Archives & Historical Collections of Michigan State University
These are just a few of the many collections of papers and documents pertaining to the forestry and lumber industries, primarily in Michigan. The collections have library records, but are located in the University Archives in Conrad Hall. They are available to students and researchers; an appointment is highly recommended to examine the collections.
Hackley and Hume Papers, 1859-1955
Charles Henry Hackley (1837-1905) and Thomas Hume (1848-1920) were prominent lumbermen from Muskegon. As leaders in the timber industry as well as Muskegon, Hackley and Hume significantly affected the economic life of their local community, as well as communities throughout the United States.
University Archives, 101 Conrad Hall.
Josiah Littlefield Papers, 1879-1958
This collection contains a portion of Josiah Littlefield's unpublished autobiography, which describes his early life on a farm in Monroe County, Michigan (1850-1865). The collection also contains four ledgers from Littlefield's lumber mill, recording workers' hours and business transactions; tax receipts; biographical information about Littlefield; and a map showing Littlefield property in Clare County, Michigan.
Josiah Littlefield was born in Flat Rock, Michigan in 1845. He graduated with a B.S. from the University of Michigan in 1871, and went to work as a surveyor and civil engineer in Farwell, Michigan. A few years later he joined the logging boom in central Michigan, building his first mill in 1875. Realizing that the depletion of the forests would eventually end the logging industry, Littlefield began to advocate reforestation. Littlefield was also active in local politics in Farwell.
MSU Forestry Club records, 1903-1953, n.d.
The MSU Forestry Club was established in 1903 under the name of MAC Foresters. The club's original purpose was to promote the interests of forestry. The group later printed the "Backlog", "Pine Needles" and starting in 1955 the "Michigan State Forester." The club is still active today.
This collection contains a minute book with the constitution and bylaws of the club at its creation, attendance rolls and minutes of the meetings. The minutes for 1912-1913 contain receipts and dues as well as meeting information. The Papers folder contains a financial statement of the club and correspondence with the Intercollegiate Association of Forestry Clubs.
Pere Marquette Lumber Company Records, 1860-1912
The company was established July 29, 1869 by James Ludington, Delos Filer, John Loomis, and Luther Foster. The company owned property located in Mason, Mecosta, Newago, Oceana, Osceola, Muskegon, and Lake Counties. Most of this land was obtained by buying land grants from veterans of the War of 1812. The company went out of existence April 2, 1912.
Forest Industries: A Guide to the Resources in the Michigan State University Archives and Historical Collections
Compiled by Ed Busch. Revised February 2015.
The purpose of this resource guide is to familiarize visitors of the M.S.U. Archives with some of the available resources related to the forestry and associated industries, such as commercial logging. Note that this guide is not a comprehensive listing of all the available sources, but is intended to be a starting point from which visitors can begin their research according to their specific needs. Online versions of the finding aids for most collections listed can be accessed by clicking on the collection name. Referral page: Collection Guides
Michigan Manual of Forestry / Filibert Roth, 1914-1916 [ebook]
Volumes I. Forest regulation, or, The preparation and development of forest working plans
Volume II. Forest valuation. Ann Arbor, Mich., 1914-16
Full text from the Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) Project
Hiawatha National Forest - USFS, Region 9
Located in Michigan's wild and scenic Upper Peninsula, the Hiawatha National Forest's dramatic shorelines lie nestled up to Lakes Superior, Huron and Michigan -- three of the five great lakes. Our lakeshores, lighthouses, islands and abundant snow create a place of respite and play within a day's drive of urban and rural areas of Michigan, Wisconsin, other nearby states and international locations.
Huron-Manistee National Forests - USFS, Region 9
Lying between the shores of Lake Michigan and Lake Huron in the northern half of the Lower Peninsula of Michigan, the nearly one-million-acre Huron-Manistee National Forests are located in a transition zone between forested lands to the north and agricultural lands to the south. The Huron-Manistee National Forests contain rare ecological features, such as dry sand prairie remnants, coastal marshlands, dunes, oak savannahs, fens, bogs and marshes.
Ottawa National Forest - USFS, Region 9
The almost one million acres of the Ottawa National Forest are located in the western Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The forest extends from the south shore of Lake Superior to the Wisconsin border. The area is rich in wildlife viewing opportunities; breathtaking views of rolling hills dotted with lakes, rivers and waterfalls; and spectacular fall colors. But you have to see it to believe it--come visit the Ottawa!
Northern Research Station - USFS
The Station manages 22 of the 80 experimental forests that are part of the Forest Service Experimental Forest Network; most of these long-term research sites lie within National Forests. NRS scientists publish in peer-reviewed journals and Station General Technical Reports; approximately 12,000 publications authored or co-authored by Northern Research Station scientists and develops web-based tools that deliver sound, peer-reviewed science in a format that is convenient for land managers and others.
Michigan Association of Timbermen
The Michigan Association of Timbermen is a non-profit trade association, representing the forest products industry of Michigan. Founded in 1972, MAT has provided effective representation of Michigan's forestry community, including those who grow, harvest and process forest products.
Michigan Big Tree Program
For the past 65 years, the Michigan Botanical Club has maintained a scientific register of the largest trees of each species in the State of Michigan. Paul Thompson began this work and over the course of his 45 year tenure as Big Tree Coordinator, he personally measured and documented over 4000 trees. Michigan's top 10 'tallest', 'girthiest', and 'highest scoring' trees are listed. Articles about the Big Trees are in the journal Michigan Botanist / Great Lakes Botanist
Michigan Christmas Tree Association
Information about the Association, and also includes "How to Care for your Christmas Tree" and "The History of the Christmas Tree".
Michigan Forest Association
Our association came to be in the year 1972 with the sole aim to spread education in the society on how best we can use and manage the woods around us. For the last four decades, we have seen our association grow to benefit both people and forests by helping the populace recognize the importance of these natural resources. Do not miss out on the fun next year. Register today and get to spread awareness as you come across people with whom you have similar interests.
Michigan Forest Pathways
The purpose of this website, and among participating organizations, is to promote science-based forestry and resource conservation. Through the sharing of information and education events, we hope to reach two primary goals: 1) Provide clearer understanding among all groups about forest and forestry education resources and opportunities. 2) Reduce inefficiencies and duplication in our educational programs to relieve the strain all non-profit groups are feeling in their budgets.
Michigan Forest Visitor Center
Michigan Forest Visitor Center
The Michigan Forest Visitor Center is located at Hartwick Pines State Park, one of Michigan's last stands of majestic old-growth pine forest.
Global Observatory for Ecosystems Services
The GOES group is a team of faculty at Michigan State University that work on both scientific research and technology development. The team includes scientists in the fields of forest science, climate science, carbon cycle science, ecology, social science, rural development, and resource economics. Our technical development includes web-enabled geographic information systems, optical and LIDAR remote sensing, image processing, geo-spatial content management systems, and a major focus on MRV systems for carbon monitoring.
Upper Peninsula Tree Identification Key
Great site to help key out Michigan trees and to learn how to make a logical and useful key - good for kids, too! This site created and maintained by Bill Cook, MSU Extension Forester for the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.