Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MSU Library-subscribed Resources
Border and Migration Studies Online
Border and Migration Studies Online is a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Featuring at completion 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images, the collection is organized around fundamental themes associated with border and migration issues.
Migration to New Worlds
Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Split across two modules, and including collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums, Migration to New Worlds brings together the movement and memories of millions across two centuries of mass migration. The Century of Immigration module concentrates on the period 1800 to 1924 and covers all aspects of the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement. The Modern Era module begins with the activities of the New Zealand Company during the 1840s and presents thousands of unique original sources focusing on the growth of colonization companies during the 19th C., the activities of immigration and welfare societies, and the plight of refugees and displaced persons throughout the twentieth century as migrants fled their homelands to escape global conflict.
Nationalsozialismus, Holocaust, Widerstand und Exil 1933-1945
A compilation of fundamental primary sources on the National Socialist state and the NSDAP, Nazi ideology and propoganda, National Socialist justice and legislation, on resistance and persecution, and annihilation and expulsion in the 'Third Reich.'
Service Newspapers of World War Two
During World War Two and its aftermath, journalism played a vital role in keeping servicemen informed and connected. This collection consists of newspapers published during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all key theatres are featured, including non-English material in German.
Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies
To access the Archive, it is necessary to create a personal account. Please see http://fortunoff.library.yale.edu/archive/search/
for details on this process.
The Fortunoff Archive currently holds more than 4,400 testimonies, which are comprised of over 12,000 recorded hours of videotape.
USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive
**NOTE: First-time users must create a personal login**. Search and view more than 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, and the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda.
Women and Social Movements International: 1840 to Present
Women and Social Movements International: 1840 to Present provides full-text access to primary source materials collected from over 300 repositories. Sources cover a wide range of subject themes, including (among many others) gender and agriculture, gender and international economic development, gender and global human rights, women and global political activism, and international family planning.
Freely Available Web Resources
100 Jahre 1. Weltkrieg
Hundreds of thousands of rare records and images from World War I put online by the German government.
Web site of the German national archives. Lots of digitized material available. In German.
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek: Kultur und Wissen online
Germany’s central, national portal for culture and science, linking the digitized collections and indexing information from cultural and scientific institutions such as libraries, archives, museums, monuments offices, media libraries, universities and other research organisations. The DDB provides central access to digital images ranging from books, documents and files, paintings, statues, installations and monuments to movies and music.
History of Germany: Primary Documents - EuroDocs
Transcriptions or translations of primary source documents. Some image collections included.
Online portal to German history.
A collection of public domain texts online. Most are by German authors, while others are translations into German.
Sophie: A Digital Library of Works by German-speaking Women
Includes literature, music, journalism, travel writing, and drama/film.