Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Buddhism: Free Web Sites

This guide provides basic reference sources, periodical indexes, sacred texts, and suggested popular works about Buddhism.

Free Web Sites

BuddhaNet.net

Presents Buddha Net, a nonprofit Buddhist information network from Buddha Dharma Education Association in Sydney, Australia.  Includes information on Buddhist studies and how to practice Buddhism, an e-library of major works representing all the chief branches of Buddhism, a directory of Buddhist centers and groups worldwide, study guides for individual schools, information on history and culture and death and dying, resources for meditation, and links to related web sites.

Buddhist Digital Resource Center

Formerly  called the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center, the Buddhist Digital Resource Center is dedicated to preserving and sharing Buddhist texts through the union of technology and scholarship.  Their site says they are the world’s largest digital repository of Buddhist texts.  They devote themselves to seeking out, preserving, documenting and disseminating Buddhist literature. BDRC provides access to about 23,700 works totaling more than 23,000,000 digital pages.

Echobuddhism

A website offering Buddhist responses to global warming/climate change.  Contains a section called Resources which offers links to online reading material.  Also has sections, with reading material, on Science, Wisdom, Solutions, 350 Target, Videos, Third Pole, and more. 

International Association of Buddhist Studies (IABS)

The International Association of Buddhist Studies (IABS) is a learned society dedicated to promoting and supporting scholarship in Buddhist Studies  a spirit of non-sectarian tolerance and with scientific research and communication as preeminent objectives. Membership is open to scholars of all academic disciplines.  Headquarters at University of Lausanne, in Switzerland.

Digital Dictionary of Buddhism

Formerly called the Dictionary of East Asian Buddhist Terms, this dictionary covers Buddhist terms from Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit, and Tibetan.  Definitions are in English.  Also has indexes, which cover radicals, total strokes, East Asian Romanized readings, terms, texts, persons, temples, schools, places, and names (of gods, demons, boddhisattvas, etc).  The site includes many links to external lexical, textual, and bibliographical resources for the study of Buddhism.

Lansing Buddhist Association

Michigan Buddhist

Pali Text Society

In England.  Publishes sacred works of Theraveda Buddhism.  Their web site is very informative about the sacred books and commentaries to them.

Michigan State University