LibGuides: MAFLT Online Library Research Guide: Finding Articles

Searching With A Purpose

Video tutorial to help with your research focus and getting started with searching.

Direct link to "Searching with a Purpose" in MSU MediaSpace

Popular, Scholarly or Trade?

Get Full-Text Articles (Find Text@MSU)

No Digital Full Text?

Remember, as MSU distance learners, we can still deliver print-only articles to you. Just contact Distance Learning Services or request through Interlibrary Loan for Off Campus Users.

Linguistic and Education Indexes: Articles, Book Chapters and More

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library contains over 2,000 periodicals (nearly 1,000 of them in ASCII full-text or full-image formats) in a wide range of subject areas. In addition to general interest publications, ProQuest Research Library covers titles in the following areas: Arts, Business, Children, Education, General Interest, Health, Humanities, International, Law, Military, Multicultural, Psychology, Sciences, Social Sciences, and Women's Interests.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
LLBA provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide, coverage of monographs, recent books, technical reports, occasional papers, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for LLBA. 1973-present
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
1983-
Provides citations for every article of at least one column in length taken from more than 500 English-language periodicals and yearbooks in the field of education. Covers every age and sector of the educational community from preschool through college. Includes book review citations. MSU Libraries have a related print publication: Education Index located in the Main Library at Z5813 .E23 and covering 1929-1982.

Language Teaching
Brings together in one journal the latest findings in important research worldwide in language teaching and learning.
Other Databases in Linguistics
This expanded list includes multidisciplinary discovery tools and indexes in disciplines related to linguistics such as the Social Science Citation Index and PsycINFO.
Other Databases in Education
Includes links to useful finding tools for assessment such as Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print and streaming educational video databases, as well as other education indexes.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Finding Full Text of Articles (After Searching an Index)

Many indexes provide the full text of articles; however, many others do not. For those that do not, there are several ways to find the full text of articles (either in print format or online) after you have searched an index. The steps are detailed below:

Step 1: Look for a Link

When searching an index for articles (such as ProQuest or OmniFile Full Text Select), take a look at your results screen or a more detailed record of the item you want to retrieve. Often there a link to the full text of the article somewhere on the results screen or in the detailed record. The link may say Jump to Full Text, View Full Text, Text with Graphics, Page Image, or PDF If one of those links appears, click on it and you will retrieve the full text of the article.
If there is no link to the full text, go to Step 2.

Step 2: Find Articles through Find Text@MSU

Look for a Find Text@MSUlink within the record of the article. If there is one, click on it and a new window will open with a series of options for finding the full text. Options will vary but may include:

Find Full Text at…If an online version of the item is available, one or more links will appear in this category. Usually this links directly to a specific article. Sometimes it may link to the table of contents for a journal issue, a list of volumes and issues available for a specific journal, or a search screen. You will then need to navigate or perform a search to reach the full text of the article. Sometimes multiple links offer you a choice of full-text options. If one does not work, try another.
Check Library Catalog… This is a shortcut to search the MSU Libraries’ catalog for availability using multiple search methods (by journal title, title, ISSN or ISBN). Even if the full text is not available online, a print copy may be.
Request a copy from… This is a shortcut to the MSU Libraries’ interlibrary loan service. If an item is not available online or in print at the MSU Libraries, this link helps you request the item using Interlibrary Loan. For more information, see our Interlibrary Loan FAQ.

Step 3:

If you are still unable to locate the article, proceed to Using a Citation to Find an Article.

Subject Guide

Stephanie Perentesis

Email Me

Contact:

MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI 48824
Phone: 517-884-0836

Subjects: Linguistics

Some Key Online Journals

Search Like a Pro

Tips for picking keywords and developing a search strategy:

Use "advanced search" when available
Use the thesaurus specific to your finding tool
- LLBA thesaurus
- Education Full Text thesaurus
Repeat the search, if necessary, with different keywords or related terms
Limit and refine search results
- In the right-hand column for Proquest and LLBA
- In the left-hand column for Education Full Text (Ebsco platform)
Look for peer-reviewed (scholarly) articles

Remember, you can limit your searches to a particular journal title in Proquest, LLBA , Education Full Text and other indexes by including the publication or source title as a term in your advanced search strategy.

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

MAFLT Online Library Research Guide: Finding Articles