Criminal Justice Data and Statistics: Prosecution and the Courts

"There are two sources of data on federal court activity referenced in this section:
- The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts (AOUSC), which provides information on federal defendants receiving pretrial detention hearings and statuses, adjudication, and sentencing.
- The U.S. Sentencing Commission (USSC), which provides information on federal defendants sentenced under the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines." -- From Website

"Federal criminal cases may be brought by the U.S. Attorney's Office, the Criminal Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, or other authorized law enforcement agencies, such as the U.S. Marshals Service (USMS). The 93 U.S. attorneys serve as the chief federal law enforcement officers within their respective districts. Investigations are most commonly referred to a U.S. attorney by a federal investigative agency, including the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), Customs and Border Protection (CBP), Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), and U.S. Secret Service. Investigations are also referred by a state or local investigative agency. Investigations may also be initiated—and cases brought directly—by U.S. attorneys or by the Criminal Division of the U.S. Department of Justice." -- From Website

"This section of uscourts.gov provides statistical data and analysis on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts." -- From Website

This annual statistical report is published by the U.S. Sentencing Commission and provides descriptive figures, tables, and charts, and selected district, circuit, and national sentencing data.

Bureau of Justice Statistics on aspects of courts in the U.S. Includes information on state court organization, state court caseload statistics, prosecutors offices, indigent defense systems, tribal courts, criminal cases, civil cases, and civil rights. (See drop down menu on left side).

"CSP collects and publishes state court caseload data from the courts of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and Guam." -- From Website

"There are two sources of data on federal court activity referenced in this section:
- The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts (AOUSC), which provides information on federal defendants receiving pretrial detention hearings and statuses, adjudication, and sentencing.
- The U.S. Sentencing Commission (USSC), which provides information on federal defendants sentenced under the U.S. Sentencing Guidelines." -- From Website

"This section of uscourts.gov provides statistical data and analysis on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts." -- From Website

"There are over 2,300 prosecutors offices in the United States. Data gathered about these offices include the annual office budget, tenure and salaries of chief state court prosecutors, and the full-time office staffing, including attorneys, investigators, victim advocates, and support personnel. Also collected are data on threats against staff and data on staff who carry firearms, and detailed information on the number of felony cases closed, felony jury trial verdicts, and the use of DNA evidence. Data are from the National Census of State Court Prosecutors, a complete census of all state prosecutors' offices litigating felony cases in state courts of general jurisdiction." -- From Website

"The data obtained from the National Census of State Court Prosecutors (NCSP) provide a complete picture of prosecutorial activities nationwide as well as a variety of administrative and legal issues facing prosecutors who handle felony cases in state courts. The 2007 NCSP data collection was a census, rather than a survey, and included 2,330 prosecutors' offices. Prior to the 2007 census, the most recent census of state prosecutors had been conducted in 2001. Probability samples of state prosecutors were surveyed in 1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, and 2005." -- From Website

"Federal criminal cases may be brought by the U.S. Attorney's Office, the Criminal Division of the U.S. Department of Justice, or other authorized law enforcement agencies, such as the U.S. Marshals Service (USMS). The 93 U.S. attorneys serve as the chief federal law enforcement officers within their respective districts. Investigations are most commonly referred to a U.S. attorney by a federal investigative agency, including the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), Customs and Border Protection (CBP), Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), and U.S. Secret Service. Investigations are also referred by a state or local investigative agency. Investigations may also be initiated—and cases brought directly—by U.S. attorneys or by the Criminal Division of the U.S. Department of Justice." -- From Website

The National Center for Juvenile Justice is a private non-profit research organization devoted to understanding, prevention and control of child and family justice. Publications provided on the website include statistical factsheets and reports, such as the annual Juvenile Arrests bulletin.

The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system

Dataset from 40 urban counties used to describe the characteristics of more than 7,000 juveniles charged with felonies in state courts.