LibGuides: Construction Management: Articles and Papers

Indexes and Databases

Indexes and databases are the primary tools for finding which publications have information on a particular topic. Some indexes only search the content of journals while others search the content of a wide range of sources such as journals, conference proceedings, books, reports and patents. From the electronic resource index search page it is possible to search for indexes by title or by a subject. In addition, indexes and databases that search publications from other subject areas such as Business and Engineering can provide useful information.

Below is a list of some of the major indexes and databases that are useful for construction management topics:

ACM Digital Library
The ACM Digital Library provides searchable access to the full-text of all of the publication from ACM dating back to the 1950s; almost 4 million total publications and almost 800,000 full-text items.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
ASCE Library
ASCE Library is the premier clearinghouse for both researchers and practitioners in the field of civil engineering. With more than 200,000 technical and professional articles across 34 journals and 780+ proceedings titles, and a robust book program, ASCE Library delivers the most respected and richest collection of civil engineering content in the world.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The most comprehensive index to journal articles on architecture and design in the United States, including many not indexed by any other source. More than 700 scholarly, popular, professional, regional, and international journals are included to cover architectural design, history and practice, landscape architecture, historic preservation, interior design, city planning and more.
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive engineering literature databases available with content across 190 engineering disciplines. Compendex indexes journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, standards, books, and recent preprints. Compendex covers subjects in every engineering discipline including Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Mining Engineering.
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970)
This database provides digital access to thousands of large-scale maps of towns and cities from 1867-1970 in California, Florida, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Washington, and the District of Columbia. The maps contain information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape, heights, and function of structures. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, gas and water utilities, and house and block numbers.
Engineering Village
Worldwide coverage of journals and conference publications in all areas of engineering.
Environmental Science Index
In-depth abstracting and indexing coverage of environmental science literature and related disciplines. Searches thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other content. Coverage from 1960-present.
IEEE Xplore
Provides full-text access to all of the publications of the IEEE, IET, and several other publishing partners. Content includes books, conference proceedings, journals, magazines, standards, and courses. There are over 6 million documents related to electrical engineering, computer science, and related sciences.
Materials Science & Engineering Collection
Coverage from 1965-present on metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. In-depth coverage from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling. Includes all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Includes METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library, and Materials Business Data File.
Scopus
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Web of Science
One of the largest indexing databases, Web of Science indexes over 22,000 journals, books, and conference proceedings in science, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Journal Articles and Conference Papers

Journal articles and conference papers usually provide the most up-to-date information on a given subject and are much more likely to have information on narrower topics not easily located in books. The Libraries' online catalog does not provide in-depth indexing of all the topics treated in individual books nor can it be used to find journal articles on a particular subject. Journals and conferences are normally published more rapidly than books and should provide the latest information on a given topic. MSU users have access to a number of databases and indexes that are useful for finding construction management information.

E-journals

E-journals can be accessed in a number of different ways, through our online catalog, and our A to Z Title List of Electronic Journals. Some can also be accessed from online indexes. Most of the e-journals that the MSU Libraries subscribe to can be accessed from anywhere on-campus. An example of an e-journal would be the Journal of Construction Engineering and Management. The number of years available online varies by journal title.