LibGuides: Consumer Health Resources: Drugs/Herbs/Supplements

Drug Resources

This page lists some general resources for drug, herb, and supplement information. The MSU Libraries Drug Resources Guide is a more extensive collection of drug resources, both free and those open only to MSU students, staff, and faculty.

Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements

About Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
Reliable information about herbs, vitamins, and supplements provided by Memorial Sloan Kettering Institute.
DailyMed
Provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs, and is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). Includes a tablet/capsule identification tool, label archives, and both human and animal drugs.
Dietary Supplement Label Database
Information about dietary supplements and alternative medicine, including those not regulated by the Federal Drug Administration (FDA). Includes brand comparison, manufacturer claims, and links to research.
Dietary Supplements
The FDA regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products. This website provides information on products and ingredients for consumers and industry.
HerbMed
An interactive, electronic herbal database from the American Botanical Council that provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements
Non-commercial information about drugs and supplements from MedlinePlus.
Office of Dietary Supplements
Information from the NIH on dietary supplement use and safety, nutrient recommendation reports and tables, and vitamin supplements.
PubChem
The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information, from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
Safe Medication
Drug information from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacist. Includes "My Medicine List" to help you keep track of medications.

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Natural Medicines incorporates Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database to provide a robust evidence based resource on natural and alternative therapies, herbs, and supplements. (Only available to MSU affiliates*)

*MSU affiliates include current faculty, staff, and students. Unfortunately, alumni are not considered affiliates by our database licenses. Everyone is welcome to come into the MSU Libraries in person to use our advanced medical literature databases, textbook collections, and online journals.

MSU Libraries

Research Guides

Consumer Health Resources

Drug Resources

Drugs, Herbs, and Supplements