Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Make Your Own Exhibit Mounts for Books
Exhibits in Libraries by
Call Number: Z717 .B84 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-14
Library exhibits are more than entertainment for patrons. They can inspire and educate, stimulate an interest that can be explored in a book, or attract visitors who otherwise wouldn't stop by. Displays are also an opportunity for a library to put its creative foot forward or help patrons navigate the facility itself. This comprehensive how-to includes a everything a librarian or staff member needs to know to put on an exhibit, from hatching ideas to evaluating the end result. Illustrations and photographs show practical methods of planning, labeling and displaying. An introduction discusses the history and rationale of exhibits, and what librarians need to know to be responsible for them. Most of the book's pages, however, are dedicated to the hands-on process of creating an exhibit. The first part is a ten-step process for beginners. The second part includes everything a librarian or staff member might want to consider when creating an exhibit: the beginning idea (theme, goals, location); the development and design (layout, labeling and related concerns); the fabrication (materials and installation); and the exhibit from installation to removal (maintenance, care of volunteers, evaluation). Related issues include safety, administration, funding, contracts, public relations and other practical topics. Another section looks at special projects such as traveling displays and hands-on exhibits. Finally, the authors provide syllabi for continued study in a workshop or college course, along with a self-study guide.
Exhibits in Special Collections, Libraries, and Archives by
Call Number: Z717 .L34 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Longtime special collections exhibits curator Jessica Lacher-Feldman advises archivists at all levels on developing enlightening and entertaining exhibits. She describes each step of the exhibit process, providing straightforward tips on:
Developing innovative exhibit ideas
Formulating exhibit policies and procedures for your institution
Crafting well-written and visually interesting exhibit labels
Branding and designing exhibits
Promoting exhibits through conventional media, social media, and give-away items
Also included are case studies that detail exhibits at a variety of institutions, sample documents and forms, a literature review, and a guide to exhibit supplies.
Book Displays by
Call Number: Z716.3 .T43 1997
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
This basic guide explains how to plan and mount an effective exhibit using common low-cost materials without damaging the books. Practical information is provided on: -- principles of good exhibit design -- planning and scheduling advice -- improving the educational content of an exhibit -- time-saving steps in installation -- how to prepare materials for display -- how to publicize and promote the exhibit -- preservation and security considerations -- special devices that display books effectively -- how to borrow or loan a book exhibit. The handbook also includes a model small exhibit plan, a glossary, resource list, model work station, and a recommended bibliography.
Tips & Tricks Poster
Exhibit Tips & Tricks Poster
Ideas on how best to display books in a library exhibit. Created by former MSUL Special Collections Conservator Bexx Caswell-Olson.