MC 202: Central American Immigration to the United States (Goett)

This comprehensive news collection includes local, regional, national and international news sources. Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.

Covers journals, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the database was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.

This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.

Comprehensive, informative, and now even easier to use, The American Mosaic: The Latino American Experience (LAE) is the latest version of the first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos—the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States.

Latinos and Hispanics in the United States are an intrinsic part of our national identity. This enormous segment of the United States population today—comprising immigrants from dozens of Latin countries, as well as Spain—now accounts for over 15 percent of the overall U.S. population. The diversity of Latino cultures is wide ranging and their myriad cultural traditions reflect unique historical trajectories in the United States.

The American Mosaic: The Latino American Experience (LAE) explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the United States—an estimated 44 million individuals who have formed unique, self-sufficient, and vibrant communities across the nation.

Designed and developed under the guidance of Latino librarians, LAE offers unparalleled depth and content that meets the specific research and curriculum needs of students, teachers, and librarians. The Analyze sections pose historic quandaries that invite learners to examine issues from all angles and develop their critical-thinking skills, while easy-to-use search and browse features facilitate research at every level.

Coverage ranges from precontact Aztec and Maya societies to 21st-century political issues like recent immigration law to cultural themes like coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. The Latino American Experience is an indispensable electronic research and learning resource that provides learners with far more than history lessons with facts and figures; it gives voice to the Latino experience through Latino authors and contributors.

Features • Content includes hundreds of primary documents and media, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and vivid historical photographs • Faceted searching allows for fast and powerful refinement of search results • Ongoing content updates enrich the site throughout the school year—at no additional cost

Highlights • Developed under the guidance of Advisory Editor Dr. Ilan Stavans and leading scholars, this resource provides trustworthy content by authorities in the field • Covers history and culture from all the countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula, including content on modern-day Latin American countries, the history of the Hispanic Diaspora, and indigenous peoples • Ties into curriculum standards with content and features geared to state-required studies on Latino history

Immigrations, Migrations & Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996, a fully searchable digital archive, includes firsthand accounts from reputable sources around the world, covering such important events as post-World War Jewish resettlement, South African apartheid, Latin American migrations to the United States, and much more.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, the series provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. In selected cases, users will be able to hear the actual audio voices of the immigrants. The collection will be particularly useful to researchers, because much of the original material is difficult to find, poorly indexed, and unpublished; most bibliographies of the immigrant focus on secondary research; and few oral histories have been published.

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories uses PhiloLogic software, developed at the University of Chicago, to enable in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Replaces the Census Bureau publication (1878-2012).

Provides statistics and reports on a wide variety of topics including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods and services, sports, technology, transportation, and much more.