LibGuides: Graduate Psychology Research Guide: Finding and Using Tests and Measures

Test Information

Finding tests, instruments, and measures is often one of the more challenging aspects of conducting research. More information about Testing Resources at MSU is available on the web at https://libguides.lib.msu.edu/tests.

Database Searching for Instruments

Below are databases that the MSU Libraries subscribes to that have tests, instruments, surveys and measurements. Some of these are readily available, and others will require contacting the author or owners of the instrument rights to use in your own research or to conduct an assessment. Please see the section below on obtaining permission for survey or instrument use in your own work.

PsycTESTS
Many of the full text of tests in PsycTest are unpublished tests that originally appeared in journal articles and were never released commercially. You may need to contact the author to obtain permission.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Povides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, be published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
1937 -
CINAHL is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. It provides indexing for over 3,000 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. Additional items indexed include nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Evidence Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons are also included.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Tests and measurements may be found as part of dissertation and theses. You will need to contact the owner of the instrument to use.

ETS Test Collection
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. With information about tests from the early 1900s to today, the collection is the largest compilation of such materials in the world. It contains tests from U.S. publishers, individual test authors and non-U.S. sources. Many of these tests are not readily accessible or freely available and you will need to request permission for use.

Obtaining Permission for Test, Measure, or Instrument Use

Obtaining permission to use tests, instruments, or surveys

Published tests or measurements may be available for purchase from the test publisher. In many cases, the MSU Libraries does not have the full text of commercially published tests, and will not be able to obtain them for individual users. Those who want to use a commercially published test will need to follow appropriate procedure to obtain permission, including paying fees associated. Some tests, instruments, or surveys may be unavailable.

Personality Assessment Inventory - this is an example of a test found the Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print.
- within the record, it discusses the cost associated with this test:
  - "$693 per complete kit including professional manual, second edition, reusable item booklet, administration folio, 25 handscore answer sheets, 25 revised adult profile forms, and 25 revised critical item forms; $93 per 10 softcover reusable item booklets; $78 per hardcover reusable item booklet; $122 per 25 handscore answer sheets; $86 per 25 revised adult profile forms; $80 per 25 structural summary forms; $74 per 25 revised critical item forms; $161 per professional manual (print or digital), second edition; $78 per administration folio; $112 per audio administration CD-ROM; $10.60 per digital administration; $9.50 per score report use (minimum of 5); $30.60 per clinical interpretive report (minimum of 5).
Bruininks Motor Ability Test
- 2025: $816.60 per complete print kit including manual (227 pages), administration easel, 25 comprehensive record forms, 25 comprehensive examinee booklets, 25 short forms, 25 short examinee booklets, scoring transparency, and manipulatives; $862.10 per complete print kit with 25 digital comprehensive form administrations/reports; $133.50 per manual; $121.80 per administration easel; $5.50 per scoring transparency; $29.50 per 25 short record forms; $64.40 per 25 comprehensive record forms; $26.20 per 25 short response booklets; $57.10 per 25 comprehensive response booklets.

Unpublished tests or measurements are much more difficult to locate, and could be included in articles, studies, or dissertations. These would likely be under copyright and you may need to contact the author in order to use in your own work.

Credit to the University of Michigan Finding Tests and Measurement Instruments LibGuide.

Other Resources

University of Michigan Finding Tests & Measurements: Dicsipline Specific
These links are largely focused on the health and behavioral sciences tests and measurements.