It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected major U.S. newspapers from different geographic regions, including the Detroit Free Press. Midwest regional papers including the Lansing State Journal. Major African-American newspapers including the Michigan Chronicle. Ethnic Newswatch database for ethnic and minority press. Selected major international papers from Asia & UK.
Search and read newspaper pages and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
Newly digitized, these newspapers published by African Americans can now be browsed and searched as never before. Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Selections were guided by James Danky, editor of "African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National Bibliography." Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman's Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S. A richly detailed record of the African American past African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past. Coverage spans life in the Antebellum South; the spread of abolitionism; growth of the Black church; the Emancipation Proclamation; the Jim Crow Era; the Great Migration to northern cities, the West and Midwest in search of greater opportunity; rise of the N.A.A.C.P.; the Harlem Renaissance; the Civil Rights movement; political and economic empowerment and more. Teachers and students will find firsthand perspectives on notable Americans from Frederick Douglass and Booker T. Washington to W.E.B. Du Bois and Martin Luther King, Jr., as well as obituaries, advertisements, editorials and illustrations.
Representing a huge variety in style, production and audience, the newspapers include national periodicals as well as local community news and student publications. The 45 unique titles also include bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions. 1828-2016.
The content in this database is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. It covers the time period from the early 18th century to the early 21st – from pre-Revolution America to the modern era.
This online collection provides extensive coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history, with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent. 130 fully newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states. 1799-1971.
Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries, including hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. They covered every major theme in American history and culture and reported on events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.
These Hispanic American newspapers reflect a long tradition of Spanish-language press in the western hemisphere. In the United States, the Hispanic press has played a vital role in the lives of immigrants, exiles and native Hispanic peoples alike. Often illustrated with photographic documentation, Hispanic American newspapers reveal the rich history of a people who have long resided in and contributed to the American public sphere. For more than two centuries, they have united Spanish speakers and preserved their cultural heritage through news, editorials and literature as well as by providing leadership, solidifying communities and spearheading social movements. They have covered every major theme in American history and culture and reported on events in Spanish-speaking countries not always available in traditional U.S. newspapers.
ProQuest Civil War Era focuses on the entire era, from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War. Content includes nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865.
--Southern Titles: Richmond Dispatch (Virginia), Charleston Mercury (South Carolina), New Orleans Times Picayune (Louisiana)
--Northern Titles: Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal(Ohio)
--Border State/Mississippi Valley Titles: The Kentucky Daily Journal, Memphis Daily Appeal
This collection is a mixture of issues and papers from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and Alabama ranging from 1861-1865. These newspapers "recorded the real and true history of public opinion during the war. In their columns is to be found the only really correct and indicative ’map of busy life, its fluctuations and its vast concerns’ in the South, during her days of darkness and of trial."
American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
This resource provides:
- Exclusive focus on American denominational newspapers during the age of religion
- More than 320 newspapers from 30-plus states, all published between 1799 and 1900
- Important commentary on such social issues as slavery, women’s suffrage and the Temperance movement
The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Courtesy of the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
The Daily Worker (1924-1958)
Daily World (1968-1986)
The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919)
People's Daily World (1986-1990)
People's Weekly World (1990-2013)
Sunday Worker (1936-1958)
The Toiler (1919-1922)
The Worker (1922-1924)
The Worker (1958-1963)
During World War Two and its aftermath, journalism played a vital role in keeping servicemen informed and connected. This collection consists of newspapers published during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939-1948). Titles from all key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African dialects. Includes Modules I and II.