LibGuides: MC 492: Civil-Military Relations: Books &amp; Media

Searching for Books

If you want to search for a book on your topic, click on Books & Media on the library's homepage (lib.msu.edu). You have a few options here.

1. Basic Keyword Search (the default)

Good for one keyword
Good for basic browsing

2. Advanced Search

Good for multiple keywords, for title + author, or for subject term searching
Can limit by item type, publication dates, languages, etc

3. Title Search

Go here if you know the title of the book

4. Author Search

Go here if you want to see all the works we have by a specific author

Search Tips

Subject Headings - use these to help you find more books on your topic (beyond the keywords). Subject headings are used by academic libraries all over the US so they really open up a collection.
Use an asterisk (*) to search multiple word forms - for example, if you want a search with environment, environmental, and environmentalism, you can search environ* and get all those forms.

Video

News clips, documentaries, interviews and more.

60 Minutes: 1997-2014 This link opens in a new window
350 hours of high-definition video from 17 years of broadcasts, including hundreds of segments not available anywhere else in the world. True to 60 MINUTES’ iconic style, each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic.
American History in Video This link opens in a new window
American History in Video includes hundreds of profiles of great American leaders and personalities.
Latin America in Video This link opens in a new window
Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
World History in Video This link opens in a new window
World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Its unparalleled geographical and chronological coverage captures longer-term and multiple perspectives, so students can make connections across cultures and over time, incorporating people, places, events, and artifacts from around the world and across the centuries.

MSU Libraries

Course Guides

MC 492: Civil-Military Relations

Searching for Books

Video