MC 498: American Health Care and Policy

Full text articles from predominantly peer reviewed journals covering health policy. Also includes some trade publications/magazines.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.

International public health database that has comprehensive coverage of the core public health literature, it also focuses on the areas of tropical medicine, infectious diseases, vector control, food safety and epidemiology.

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature, of dissertations and technical reports, and of English-language chapters and books in psychology and related disciplines. Also includes psychology articles from related disciplines such as sociology, linguistics, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.

1995-
ScienceDirect (from Elsevier) provides access to the full text of over 2,000 journals, from 1995 to present (with extended coverage for some titles). It also contains electronic books. Coverage includes strong content in the physical sciences. Personalization options for table of contents alerts, saving searches, etc., are available.

PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.

At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video. The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Political Science Complete™ (PSC) contains full text for over 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts for more than 2,900 journals (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 38,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association (Description as of January 2012).

Includes social sciences academic journals, includes full-text and citations.

Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship in & out of academia. Includes full-text and citations.

Covers essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline

Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 45,000 records, selected from both scholarly journals and book chapters within the discipline. This online database indexes the full backrun of the former paper abstract "Sage Urban Studies Abstracts", taking coverage back to 1972.

The largest collection available in support of the study of gender and sexuality, enables scholars to make new connections in LGBTQ history and activism, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and other related areas of research.

Includes Congressional Record 1789-2001, Congressional Hearings 1824-2003, Congressional Serial Set, Committee Prints 1830-present, CRS Reports 1916-present, Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932, and U.S. Bills and Resolutions.

A comprehensive resource for U.S. and international companies as well as newspaper articles, transcripts and web news worldwide, along with legal materials from U.S. and international jurisdictions.

This comprehensive news collection includes local, regional, national and international news sources. Good for recent news from around the world

This database provides full-text, full-color newspapers and magazines from around the world. Titles are displayed as published in print. Includes a searchable, 60-day archive.

Links and access to health statistics and data from the National Center for Health Statistics.

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the United States federal government. Data.gov includes a searchable data catalog that includes access to data in two ways: through the "raw" data catalog and using tools. Please note that by accessing datasets or tools offered on Data.gov, you agree to the Data Policy, which you should read before accessing any dataset or tool.

Policymap is an online data and mapping application that gives access to over 15,000 indicators related to housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, demographics and education. Data are available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data come from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download. Through PolicyMap, you can access all data in interactive maps, tables, charts, reports and through a unique analytic tool. You may also upload your own address level data and share your data and interactive maps with others.

Includes plumbing and kitchen data from 2011-2015 US Census Annual Community Survey.

Food environment factors—such as store/restaurant proximity, food prices, food and nutrition assistance programs, and community characteristics—interact to influence food choices and diet quality. The Atlas assembles statistics on three broad categories of food environment factors: food choices, health and wellbeing and community characteristics. The Atlas currently includes 90 indicators of the food environment. Data availability by geography varies. Most data is available by county, but some is only available for states or regions.

Offering access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature, Policy File Index is updated weekly with abstracts and links to the latest reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.