Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Want to use MSU Libraries books but you are not located in East Lansing? Or need a book or article that is not available at MSU? The Health Sciences Digital Library has information on how to request materials if you live far away from the Libraries, as well as requesting items the library does not own or have access to.
Books Available from the MSU Libraries
The MSU Libraries have a number of print and electronic books available on the basics of writing in medicine. Clicking on the book's title or cover image in the list below will take you to its record in the library catalog.
A-Z of Medical Writing by
Call Number: R119 .A43 2000eb
Publication Date: 2000
The purpose of this book is to help doctors and other health professionals with their writing problems. It consists of several hundred topics, from the process of writing to authorship, and from the use of semi-colons to the law of late literals.
How to Display Data by
Call Number: R119 .F76 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Effective data presentation is an essential skill for anybody wishing to display or publish research results, but when done badly, it can convey a misleading or confusing message. This new addition to the popular “How to” series explains how to present data in journal articles, grant applications or research presentations clearly, accurately and logically, increasing the chances of successful publication.
How to Report Statistics in Medicine by
Call Number: RA409 .L357 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Presents a comprehensive and comprehensible set of guidelines for reporting the statistical analyses and research designs and activities commonly used in biomedical research. Containing elements of a reference book, a style manual, a dictionary, an encyclopedia, and a text book, it is the standard guide in the fields of medical writing, scientific publications, and evidence-based medicine throughout the world.
How to Write, Publish, and Present in the Health Sciences by
Call Number: R119 .L365 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Contains important information and guidelines on successfully publishing or presenting work in medicine and the health sciences. Suitable for both those considering publishing or presenting their work for the first time as well as seasoned professionals.
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing by This self-help guide is intended for scientists and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English. If you want not only to write but to write well, this book is for you. This second edition takes into account new developments in the area of scientific communication. In particular, the importance of authenticity is addressed, drawing attention to the sensitive issue of plagiarism in scientific texts.
Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Successful Scientific Writing by
Call Number: R119 .M28 2014
Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Thoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of this acclaimed and best-selling guide offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples. The authors draw on fifty years of experience, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. Retaining the user-friendly style of the previous editions, this fourth edition has been broadened to include detailed information relevant to today's digital world. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts, making this a powerful tool for researchers and students across a range of disciplines.
What Every Medical Writer Needs to Know by
Publication Date: 2015-08-29
This book presents must-know facts generally not covered in "How To" books about medical writing. Every medical writer, whether a beginner or veteran, needs answers to questions many might not even know to ask. How does your personality type influence your writing behavior, and what can you do to make writing easier for you? What should you ask before agreeing to co-author an article for publication or write a book chapter? What are some of the current issues regarding copyright and plagiarism that authors may face? What has research discovered about the quotations and references found in journal articles? What do you need to know about open access journals and predatory publishers? Dr. Taylor tells some surprising truths about medical publishing, including possible sources of peer review bias and some alarming influences on what ends up in print. He also relates little-known stories about renowned medical writers such as Sir William Osler, William Carlos Williams and Elisabeth Kübler-Ross and the origins of some of medicine's classic publications. What Every Medical Writer Needs to Know provides information vital for every health care professional who aspires to write for others to read: academicians and practicing physicians; nurses, nurse practitioners and physician assistants; and professional medical and scientific writers.
Writing Case Reports by
Publication Date: 2016-11-16
This book provides medical students and physicians with a practical, step-by-step guide on how to write and publish a medical case report. The case report is the traditional way for physicians to describe their unique or unusual cases to a broad audience and it plays an important role in the discovery of new diseases or syndromes, unusual manifestations of disease, important adverse drug reactions, and the generation of hypotheses for further study. This book guides readers through the process from choosing a case to report on to finding a publisher and then comment on future directions and potential new uses of case reports, including expanded computer case databases to optimize care for individual patients and new applications in medical education. Interspersed throughout the text are example case reports, many written by the authors, with commentary on their experiences working with those reports to provide context and aid readers in creating clear, concise, and useful case reports.
Publishing and Presenting Clinical Research by
Call Number: R119 .G67 2014
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
An excellent primer for investigators who wish to learn how to organize, present, and publish results of their research. Written by an experienced clinical researcher and editor, it uses hundreds of examples, tables and figures to show how to produce successful abstracts, posters, oral presentations, and manuscripts for publication. This book also serves as a companion to the popular text, Designing Clinical Research.
Writing about Patients by
Call Number: RC480.8 .K36 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The publication, presentation, and discussion of case studies are essential to the dialogue of psychoanalysis. However, presenting patient material to the public by either disguising the patient's identity or asking for the patient's consent presents a clinical dilemma. In this book ethical concerns about confidentiality and decision making are examined both in theory and in the context of their clinical effect.
Writing for the Health Professions by
Call Number: R119 .T425 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Teaches the principles of writing, writing for academic purposes and writing to help health care professionals in practice. Designed for those with a firm grasp of basic grammar, it leads the reader through the fundamentals of writing papers, documentation and writing research grants.
Writing in the Health Professions by
Call Number: R119 .H397 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Covers writing situations and documents common in hospitals, clinics, HMOs, health insurance companies, public health campaigns, and other healthcare environments. Also addresses ethics, multicultural and international medical communications, and emphasizes audience analysis.