Museum Studies Resources

Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science includes more than 50 entries on museum studies, as well as other discussions on other museums-related topics. Other topics include, but not limited to,  archives, cabinet of curiosities, careers and education in museum works, collection management in museums, conservation and preservation of museum objects, digital humanities, exhibition design, interactive multimedia in museum, provenance of museum objects, and visitor studies.

A Companion to Museum Studies, edited by Sharon Macdonald, contains "multidisciplinary approach to the study of the development, roles, and significance of museums in contemporary society." It provides the information on the museum from various aspects such as cultural, political governance, curatorial, and historical perspectives. 

Reference books (both in print and electronic versions) include dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, directories, manuals, handbooks, and much more. Reference books can help you to:

• Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
• Identify unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
• Find references to other books and articles on the subject
• Find specific keywords to use in online searches

For Reference Materials access Reference Universe. Reference Universe contains our complete collection of reference resources in print and electronic format. 

Reference Books include:

Museums of the World, 2001

Museum studies and training in the United States : 1999-2000 guide

Opportunities in museum careers (Electronic)

Museums and Galleries of London

Anthropological resources : a guide to archival, library, and museum collections

Clothing and textile collections in the United States