Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Background Information
Scholarly background information sources, such as subject-specific encyclopedias and handbooks, can provide useful short articles to substantiate your understanding of the core concepts related to your research.
Reference books can help you:
- Explore a topic: find out what has been said about this subject, trends, issues, etc.
- Identify and define unfamiliar terms or people in your reading
- Find references to other books and articles on the subject
- Find specific keywords to use in online searches
The library subscribes to a number of online databases that bring together encyclopedias and handbooks from a publisher in one convenient and searchable website.
SAGE Knowledge Encyclopedias and Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Hosts a large number of works by Sage Publishers, a well-known scholarly publisher in the social sciences. Titles in this database include Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America; Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, and Recovery; The Sage Handbook of Social Work Research; Encyclopedia of Social Problems; etc.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of works by Gale Publishers, a major educational publisher. Titles in this database include International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences; Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources; West's Encyclopedia of American Law; etc.
Sociology and Gender Studies Reference Books
Gender and Education by
Call Number: Main Library Reference 1 East, LC213 .G425 2007
Publication Date: 2007