LibGuides: Locating Standards at the MSU Libraries: Finding Standards at MSU Libraries

Finding Standards at MSU

Because of the large number of standards available and the difficulty of determining which individual standards will be used, MSU does not maintain a comprehensive collection of standards. MSU regularly provides access to collections of standards from The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE),The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). The MSU Libraries also purchases selected standards from other bodies such as the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) and The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE).

MSU users have online access to standards from the following organizations. Individual standards from these organizations do not usually have their own entries in our online catalog so users need to search for individual standards from these organizations in the online databases below.

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
See the ASTM database.
American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) Standards
AISC's current standards are available as downloadable PDFs on their website.
ASABE Technical Library
Online access to all American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Technical Library (ASABE) journals, standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks, and monographs beginning with 2001. ASABE's journals are refereed publications: Applied Engineering in Agriculture (vol.13/1997); Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health (vol.1/1995) ; Transactions of the ASABE (vol.40/1997); Biological Engineering (vol.1/2008)
ASCE Library
ASCE Library is the premier clearinghouse for both researchers and practitioners in the field of civil engineering. ASCE Library has more than 200,000 technical and professional articles across 34 journals and 780+ proceedings titles, and a robust book program, including ASCE standards.
ASTM Standards
ASTM International is a voluntary standards development organization with members from over 120 nations. ASTM develops technical standards for materials, products, systems, tests and services. ASTM publishes over 12,000 standards in 15 sections. We have access to the current and some historical standards through the ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL). This database also provides access to other ASTM publications including their Special Technical Publications (STPs) and the online versions of their journals. Older versions of the standards are may be available at the call number TA 401. A653. ASTM also includes standards from the following organizations, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), International Organization for Standardization (ISO), Spanish Association for Standardization (UNE), and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) is a continuously updated online version of the CFR. It is not an official legal edition of the CFR.
ICC Digital Codes
The International Code Council Digital Codes are an authoritative database of model codes, standards, and supplements. Please note - some content is only available with a premium subscription.
IEEE Standards
IEEE is a major developer of standards with almost 1,300 active standards. It works to develop industrial standards in a wide range of fields including power, energy, information technology, telecommunications, transportation, medicine, healthcare, nanotechnology, cybersecurity, information assurance, and green technology. IEEE also cooperates with other standards organizations. MSU owns or has access to most IEEE standards. Prior to 2004 IEEE standards were purchased and housed in the Engineering Library. Individual IEEE print standards can be located using our online catalog and can be checked out. The online full-text versions of the IEEE standards can be found using the IEEE Xplore Database.
International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) Standards
See the ASTM database.
International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Standards
See the ASTM database.
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
NIST produces the Nation’s Standard Reference Data (SRD). These data are assessed by experts and are trustworthy such that people can use the data with confidence and base significant decisions on the data. NIST provides 49 free SRD databases and 41 fee-based SRD databases.
NFPA List of Codes and Standards
The National Fire Protection Association provides access to safety standards for fire, electrical and life. They do provide access for free although you'll need to create an account.
OSHA Standards
Regulations and standards for the Occupational Safety and Health Administration.
SAE Digital Library
The SAE Digital Library is a searchable database providing online access to the full text of the Society of Automotive Engineers Technical Papers from 1990 to the present , and also includes the SAE Ground Vehicle Standards.

Other Online Sources

Accuris Store
Search the Accuris store for standards you aren't able to find through other search tools. If you find what you need, check with the Engineering Librarian to see if it can be purchased by the library.
ANSI Webstore
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options.