Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print books available at MSU Libraries
Wilderness Navigation by The National Outdoor Leadership School's official guide to finding your way in the wilderness Covers all navigational techniques, from map and compass to GPS and gives instructions on taking bearings and planning routes on USGS maps Up-to-date information on tools, equipment, and software, including smartphones and ipads for navigation, new emergency communication technology and solar power Updated and new illustrations by Jon Cox
Call Number: GV 200.4.W45 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Be Expert with Map and Compass by This new, enlarged edition of Be Expert with Map & Compass includes everything the beginner needs to know about the increasingly popular sport of Orienteering: understanding map symbols; traveling by map alone, by compass alone, or by map and compass together; finding bearings; sketching maps; and traveling in the wilderness
Call Number: GV 200.4.K53 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-24
Wilderness Navigation by So, ah... where do you think we are? Wilderness Navigation will answer all your questions about reading maps; buying a compass; how to avoid getting lost, and what to do if that happens. It also covers wilderness route finding on trails, in the forest, in alpine areas and on snow and glaciers.
Call Number: GV200.4 .B87 1999
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
E-Books available at MSU Libaries
Be Expert with Map and Compass by This popular, easy-to-use orienteering handbook has been helping people find their way for more than fifty years. Now updated to include information on GPS as well as current Web sites, references, sources, and photographs. Coverage includes understanding map symbols; traveling by map alone, by compass alone, or by map and compass together; finding bearings; sketching maps; and traveling in the wilderness.
Publication Date: 2009-11-16
Land Navigation Handbook by Sooner or later any outdoor enthusiast will need more than trail markers for guidance. This best-selling manual - now thoroughly revised and updated - is designed for anyone who wants to chart a course in the wilderness. Starting with the basics of interpreting maps and orienting by compass, the proceeds clearly through the more advanced mysteries of land navigation: measuring distances and estimating travel times; determining and adjusting for local declination around the globe; using an altimeter to add the dimension of height to one's position; and navigation by means of sun and stars. The author also surveys popular handheld GPS units and instructs in their use, and provides an overview of marine navigation for the growing sport of sea kayaking.
Call Number: GV200.4 .K34 2005 Online
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Wilderness Navigation Handbook by Designed for both land and water use, this comprehensive guide helps unlock the complexity of map and chart reading as it relates to navigation. Beginning with detailed technical descriptions of the tools of navigation: a compass, an altimeter, a GPS system; this handbook shows how to use these tools either individually or in combination with each other to navigate any area. Factors that cause tools and techniques to fail are discussed, such as why an altimeter often shows the wrong elevation, a GPS position is sometimes off track, and the sun often points in an unexpected direction. Twenty-one real-life scenarios provide practical wisdom for even the most intrepid navigator. Specific information on using the moon for directions and the stars for position, measuring boiling water temperature for elevation, map projections, map datums, great circle routes, and the UTM/UPS grid system is included.
Call Number: GV200.4 .T683 2004eb Online
Publication Date: 2005-09-28
Online Resources for understanding topographic maps
USGS guide to topographic map symbols (PDF)
This guide explains the stylistic choices in USGS topo maps from basic colors to the thorough symbol system for natural and man-made features.
Topographic Map Margins (PDF)
This document explains the information contained in the margins of USGS topo maps. A necessary skill for using the maps in navigation.
USGS Map Scales (PDF)
An explanation of map scales generally and how each scale relates to real world distance.
USGS Magnetic Declination FAQ
A quick explanation of magnetic declination including an animation of changes in Earth's magnetic fields in the past 400+ years
NOAA declination calculator
This site gives you a current magnetic declination for your area of interest. You can search by Lat/Long, country and city, or ZIP code.
Compass practice and training
Southern Michigan Orienteering Club (SMOC)
An orienteering club with permanent courses throughout southern Michigan. They offer training and competitions in map and compass navigation.
A great website that describes methods of navigation by compass and map and includes some exercises to confirm understanding.
REI Navigation Basics
One of REI's expert advice pages on the basics of wilderness navigation, including videos. Full day training courses are often available through their Ann Arbor store as well.