Skip to main content
Michigan State University

British Victorian Period Research: Guides to Research and Reference Works

This is a guide to doing research on topics about 19th-century Britain and Ireland, meant to be be useful to students in English and in history.

Guides to Research and Reference Works

Guide to Reference Main Z 1035 .G8

Published 1996.  The last paper edition of  the "mother of all reference works."  Now useful historically, if you want to find out what the significant reference works (dictionaries, encyclopedias, periodical indexes, bibliographies) were in the 1990s.

Student's Guide to History

D 16.3 .B4 2001 Main
A handy little book covering reference sources for history and research and writing tips.

American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature

D 20 .A55 1995 v. 1-2 Reference and Main
Authoritative guide to the best monographs on history topics, periods, and places, the world over, as of the mid 1990s. American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature is online!

Reader's Guide to British History

DA 34 .R43 2003 v. 1-3 Reference
Organized alphabetically by topic. Provides bibliographic essays recommending particularly good books on British history topics of all periods.

Women's Lives, Researching Women's Social History 1800-1939.  Main HQ 1122 .N49 2011

Chapters on general sources, on researching women in domestic service, women working on the land, in factories, the middle class, aristocratic women, and women in crime.  Overall bibliography.  Short timeline.  Bibliographic essay format.  B/W illustrations.

History Highway: a 21st Century Guide to Internet Resources Reference and DMC 4 West (CD) D 16.117 .H55 2006

An annotated bibliography of web sites.

Bibliography of Imperial, Colonial, and Commonwealth History Since 1600

DA 123 .B53 2002 Main

Literary Research and the Victorian and Edwardian Ages 1830-1910: Strategies and Sources  Main PR 461 .V36 2011

Literary Research Guide, an Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies.  Main Z 2011 .H34 2008

"...a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the U.S., other literatures in English, and related topics.  ... describes... evaluates important bibliographies, abstracts, surveys of research, indexes, databases, catalogs, general histories and surveys, annals, chronologies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks."

Nineteenth Century Literature

Resources for the study of English and American literature from the nineteenth century.  Authored by M.S.U. librarian Michael Rodriguez, our U.S. and U.K. literature subject librarian.

Historical Research Using British Newspapers Main D 16 .B25 2016

Victorian Periodicals: Aids to Research: a Selected Bibliography

Victorian Studies, a Research Guide

DA 550 .P76 1992 Main

Historians' Guide to Early British Maps: a Guide to the Location of Pre-1900 Maps of the British Isles Preserved in the United Kingdom and Ireland

G 5741 .S1 H57 1994  Map Library Quick Reference Third floor, West Wing

  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University