Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Periodical Indexes and Annual Bibliographies
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Bibliography of British and Irish History is the major index to secondary articles about British, Scottish, Welsh, Northern Irish, and Irish history. It also indexes primary sources. It is made available online by Brepolis, the online division of the Brepols publishing company, but is produced in partnership with the University of London, Institute of Historical Research and the Royal Historical Society. Originally, this was a print resource called Annual Bibliography of British and Irish History, Main stacks Z 2016 .A55, published 1975-2003. BBIH covers books, articles in collective volumes (including conference proceedings and festschriften)and journal articles. Primary source material is indexed as well as much secondary material.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides access to historical articles for the Modern period (1450 to the present) for Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Latin America.
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will likely be 4-5 years old. In 2010 some coverage of current issues began. Indexing is on the words found in titles of articles, abstracts of the articles, and the full texts. In the advanced search, best to specify which discipline you want your material to come from; this helps to ensure that your search words will be used the way the discipline you are in uses them.
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online (LION) contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference sources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of 120 current literature journals that can be accessed through the literary index, Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), which contains over 880,000 records of literary criticism from 1920 to current.
Literature Criticism Online
This resource contains full-text copies of critical articles on authors of the period that were published in other sources, primarily in scholarly literature journals. It is a digital version of what were once print sources. After formulating your search but before clicking the Search button, notice the "More Options" section on the search form. In the box beside "Products/Series" click on the down arrow. Uncheck all the series included except 19th Century Literature Criticism Online. This way you will only be searching the material about 19th c. authors.
ProQuest One Literature
This is a portal to content about literature in ProQuest's databases of criticism, reference material, primary source poetry, drama, and prose, dissertations, book reviews. Includes audio of Arkangel's Shakespeare plays, a video archive of Poets on Screen reading their work, and an audio Poetry Archive of contemporary poets reading their work.
Humanities Full Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. Covers archaeology, art, classics, film, folklore, journalism, linguistics, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, world history, world literature.
History of Science, Technology, & Medicine
This database covers all aspects of the history of science, technology, and medicine. Includes international material selected from periodicals since 1975. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials. EBSCOhost platform.
Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA is a bilingual bibliographic database on the history of post-classical Western art. Abstracts may be in French or English and there are subject indexes in both languages. It covers literature on architecture, painting, sculpture, drawing, prints and decorative arts, industrial design, popular and folk art, photography, and performance art from late antiquity (4th c. A.D.) to the present. BHA on the Getty Web site offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)
Offers an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 202 languages, including original language titles; title translations in English; full bibliographic information; abstracts in English; and author, journal, and subject indexes. Includes all forms of scholarly works.
MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers.
Cumulative Bibliography of Victorian Studies
Z 2019 .A642 1945-2004 Main
Produced in Canada, indexes articles, books, and reviews published in English on the Victorian period, 1830s to 1914. Index in back by topic refers to entry numbers in front of volume containing full citations. Arrangement includes chapters on philosophy and religion, history, science and technology, etc. This is a print source; not online.