Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Botany Research Guide: Websites of interest

This is a general guide to finding information on plants, including floras, taxonomy, identification keys, habitat and growing needs.

Websites of interest

AgNIC Plant Science
Provides information on all aspects of plant life from anatomy, to taxonomy, to ecology and uses. Includes links to images and keys.

American Botanical Literature, Index to
The Index contains entries dealing with various aspects of extant and fossil American plants and fungi, including systematics and floristics, morphology, and ecology, as well as economic botany and general botany (publications dealing with botanists, herbaria, etc.). "America" is defined in the broadest possible sense, encompassing land and marine plants and fungi from Greenland to Antarctica. American territory outside this area, e.g., Hawaii, is not included.
The searchable database includes all those entries published in the Index since 1996, and thus includes botanical literature appearing since late 1995. We have made minimal progress in retrospective cataloging, and will continue to add older literature as time and manpower are available. If a bibliographic entry is not in the Index, it probably means either (1) the subject matter was considered inappropriate (e.g., physiology, genetics), or (2) the publication has not arrived at the LuEsther T. Mertz Library of The New York Botanical Garden.

International code of botanical nomenclature (Vienna Code): Adopted by the seventeenth International Botanical Congress, Vienna, Austria, July 2005 / prepared and edited by J. McNeill ... [et al.]. 
The printed and only official version of the Code has been published as International Code of Botanical Nomenclature (Vienna Code). Regnum Vegetabile 146. A.R.G. Gantner Verlag KG.

International Plant Names Index
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names.

Kew Bibliographic Databases
The Kew Bibliographic Databases is a combined searching tool giving you access to three bibliographic databases: KR - The Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature, PMBD - the Plant Micromorphological Bibliographic Database and EBBD - the Economic Botany Bibliographic Database.
There is no charge for using the KBD and you may carry out a simple search, retrieving a limited number of references, without registering. Registered users can access a much larger number of records at a time, search just the data sets they are interested in, download selected records, save searches for repeated use and perform more complex searches.

Kew Record of Taxonomic Literature is a bibliography of over 200,000 publications published since 1971 and relating to the taxonomy of flowering plants, gymnosperms, and ferns. It contains references to all publications relating to the taxonomy of flowering plants, gymnosperms and ferns. It also includes references on phytogeography, nomenclature, chromosome surveys, chemotaxonomy, floras and botanical institutions, along with articles of taxonomic interest in the fields of anatomy and morphology, palynology, embryology and reproductive biology, and relevant bibliographies and biographies.
The Plant Micromorphology Bibliographic Database (PMBD) is a unique bibliographic database maintained by the Kew Micromorphology Group. The database supports all of the group's research, including the two book series Anatomy of the Dicotyledons and Anatomy of the Monocotyledons. It contains over 90,000 references to publications and is probably the most comprehensive computerised index to higher plant micromorphology in existence. It covers most work published on plant anatomy and pollen/spore morphology in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and is regularly updated with new literature. All aspects of angiosperm and gymnosperm plant structure are covered, together with vegetative anatomy of pteridophytes. Common subject areas include ontogeny, ultrastructure, techniques, palaeobotany, embryology and seed anatomy.
The Economic Botany Bibliography Database (EBBD) contains 33,000 references to publications relating to the uses by humans of flowering plants, gymnosperms and ferns. Entries date from the late nineteenth century to 2003, when data entry stopped. Subjects covered include the ethnobotany of plant use in traditional societies, medical and industrial uses of plants, and their domestication and history. Coverage focuses on wild plants and minor crop plants. About half of the citations on EBBD derive from recent data entry and are accurate, and consistently keyworded. Other citations derive from an older dataset and contain obvious spelling errors and inaccuracies.

PLANTS Database (USDA)
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

PLANTS Identification Keys - Automated Key Data Available For Use and Testing
Unlike a traditional plant identification key that provides you with only two choices at each step (a dichotomous key), these keys let you select multiple characters simultaneously (polyclave key). This makes more character data available in the key and minimizes the number of steps it takes to identify a plant.

Plant Information Online
Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in 930 North American nurseries for 100948 plants, find 348856 citations to 132726 plants in science and garden literature, link to selected websites for images and regional information about 9924 plants, and access information on 2293 North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.

Index Herbariorum: A Global Directory of Public Herbaria and Associated Staff
For the past three centuries, scientists have documented the earth’s plant and fungal diversity through dried reference specimens maintained in collections known as herbaria. There are approximately 3,990 herbaria in the world today, with approximately 10,000 associated curators and biodiversity specialists. Index Herbariorum is a guide to this crucial resource for biodiversity science and conservation. The Index Herbariorum (IH) entry for an herbarium includes its physical location, Web address, contents (e.g., number and type of specimens), history, and names, contact information and areas of expertise of associated staff. The first six editions of Index Herbariorum were published by the International Association for Plant Taxonomy in the Netherlands (1952—1974). It, along with volumes 7 and 8, became available on-line in 1997.

Smithsonian Institute list of Botanical links
Includes: Checklists & Monographs, Conservation, General References, Geography, Herbaria Homepages, Literature Searches,  Miscell. Sites, Molecular & Phylogenetic,References, Newsletters, Nomenclatural References, Phycological Sites, Search Engines, Societies, Specimen Databases, Taxonomic Databases, Tutorials, Type Databases

Smithsonian Libraries Catalog Search in SIRIS - Botany-Michigan (about 24 entries to books, bulletins and articles)

Other Botanical Databases
This is a list of Botanical databases addressing floras, grasses, tropicals, etc. that are publicly available.

Toxic Plants
Websites that identify plants toxic to humans and animals. If in immediate need, contact the Poison Control Center:
PEOPLE: (800) 222-1222 - the Children's Hospital of Michigan, Detroit
ANIMALS: (888) 426-4435 - ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center Hotline

Toxic Plants - ASPCA Poison Control Center
Toxic Plants - by A. King, UC Davis
Toxic Plants - Cat Fancier's Association
Toxic Plants - Dogpack.com
Toxic and Nontoxic Plant List for Birds

Digital Repositories

The following are repositories of digital information pertaining to the plant sciences.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. They are digitizing the published literature of biodiversity held in their respective collections, and so far have over 1.124 million pages of key taxonomic literature available on the web. From a scholarly perspective, these collections are of exceptional value because the domain of systematic biology depends -- more than any other science -- upon historic literature. The “cited half-life” of natural history literature is longer than that of any other scientific domain.

Botanicus
Botanicus is a freely accessible, Web-based encyclopedia of historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture
The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) is a core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

Great Lakes Digital Library
Te research papers represented on this site were published by the Great Lakes Research Division, a unit of the University of Michigan Institute for Science and Technology, and later reorganized under the Department of Biology.

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines, published between 1850 and 1950.

Making of America
MoA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

National Agricultural Library Digital Repository
The NALDR provides access to primarily historical USDA publications either digitized by NAL or through NAL’s partnerships with other institutions.

Organic Agriculture Information Access
Organic Agriculture Information Access is an electronic collection of historic United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) publications related to organic agriculture. In this collection, there are almost 200 documents published before 1942 (before synthetic chemicals became widely used) that contain state-of-the-art information and data that is still very pertinent for today's agriculture. This collection is provided by the Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC), a part of the National Agricultural Library (NAL),

TreeSearch
Provides access to publications of the US Forest Service.

Michigan State University