Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Forestry Research Guide: Catalog and Book Search

This is a guide to resources in the study of Forestry.

Dendrology: the scientific study of trees

Silviculture: the growing and cultivation of trees. from The New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd. Erin McKean. Oxford University Press, 2005

Catalog Search

  • SearchPlus is a new method to search across books, chapters, ebooks, and articles in a single search. It allows users to search most of the library's online databases and the library catalog at the same time, for a multidisciplinary set of results which can then be filtered by date, language, subject, and content type -- such as books, articles in scholarly journals, newspaper articles, dissertations, and more. SearchPlus Advanced can help limit results from the onset.
     
  • The Library catalog is the primary way to find materials within the library. The online catalog lists all of the materials owned and cataloged by the MSU Libraries, both print and electronic journal titles, books, music CDs, government documents, videos & DVDs, and dissertations.
     
  • The Advanced Search of the catalog allows you to search using multiple keywords, subjects, and combine fields like author and title. You can also set limits, including by collection (i.e. the format - periodicals, electronic resources, or any of the special or branch library collections), material type (i.e. maps, dissertations, etc.), location, language, and by a date or range of dates.  Results can be sorted by date (most recent first), alphabetically by title, and by relevance.
    The green tabs at the top of this page will also take you to specifically a Title, Author, Subject, or Basic Keyword search options.

Thesis/Dissertation Research

The Library catalog contains MSU theses and dissertations as well as some select theses and dissertations from other institutions. Formats include print, microform and links to electronic full text (1997-). Please note that there may be a slight processing delay for current items.

  • MSU Libraries Catalog
    Change the 'Any Field' drop-down box to author, title, or subject . You can also search by specific department or college; i.e., chemical engineering or education.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day and offering full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997.

  • Dissertations & Theses @ CIC Institutions - This ProQuest site provides access to dissertations and theses from MSU and other CIC institutions. Full text is available from 1997 onward; citations and abstracts are available for earlier documents.

  • For more assistance locating Theses & Dissertations, see the Library Research Guide Finding Dissertations and Theses

Call numbers of interest

Here is a breakdown of Library of Congress call numbers for many agriculture-related subjects:

QK

474.8-495.Z Spermatophyta. Phanerogams. General trees

SD

1-668 General Forestry
391-409.5 Silviculture
411-428 Conservation and protection, including forest reserves
430-557 Exploitation and utilization, including timber trees, logging, transportation, valuation
434-535.3 Timber trees
561-668 Forest policy and administration

TA

420 Materials of engineering and construction - Special materials - Wood / lumber

TE

 229.5 Highway engineering. Roads and pavements - Forest Roads

Michigan State University