Dendrology: the scientific study of trees
Silviculture: the growing and cultivation of trees. from The New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd. Erin McKean. Oxford University Press, 2005
Academic writing for graduate students : essential tasks and skills by 
English for Writing Research Papers by
This guide is based on a study of referees' reports and letters from journal editors on reasons why papers written by non-native researchers are rejected due to problems with English usage.
Essential Communication Strategies for scientists, engineers, and technology professionals, 2nd ed [electronic resource] by
Introduction to the art of communication -- The written document: Prose and panic: Planning the document -- Acquiring a healthy writing attitude -- Producing the document -- The formal presentation: Dissertation or disaster: Planning the presentation -- Acquiring the successful presentation attitude -- Conducting the presentation -- The informal discussion: Meetings and mishaps: Planning for the meeting -- Acquiring a meeting attitude -- Participating in the meeting -- Cross-culture communication: Bridging the gap: Understanding a communication culture gap -- Writing for any readership -- Presenting to any audience -- Meeting with anyone or any group -- Conclusion.
How to Write Technical Reports: understandable structure, good design, convincing presentation [electronic resource] by
Technical Reports are usually written according to general standards, corporate - sign standards of the current university or company, logical rules and practical - experiences. These rules are not known well enough among engineers. There are many books that give general advice in writing.
Mastering Scientific and Medical Writing: a self-help guide, 2nd ed. [electronic resource] by
This self-help guide is intended for scientific and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English.
Research Design and Proposal Writing in Spatial Science, 3rd ed [electronic resource] by
The complex interactions between human and physical systems confronting geographers pose unique conceptual, methodological, and practical complications when 'doing research'. Graduate students in a broad range of related fields need to learn how to tackle the discipline-specific issues of space, place, and scale as they propose and perform research in spatial sciences. This practical textbook and overview blends plenty of concrete examples of geographic research and case studies to familiarize readers with the research process as it demystifies and exemplifies how to really do it.
Scientists Must Write: a guide to better writing for scientists, engineers and students by
Writing is an important part of science but many students receive no formal training in the art of writing. They need to be able to write good English if they are to be effective as scientists and engineers. This book, by a scientist, is not a textbook on English grammar: nor is it just one more book on how to write a technical report, or a thesis, or a paper for publication. It is, instead, about all the ways in which writing is important to scientists and engineers in helping them to remember to observe, to think, to plan, to organize and to communicate.
Style: Lessons in clarity and grace by
Engaging and direct, Style: Lessons in Clarity and Grace is the guidebook for anyone who wants to write well.
Librarians note: we have multiple editions of this work; all are worthy.
Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering by
Synthesis lectures on engineering # 9. Scientists and engineers seek to discover and disseminate knowledge so that it can be used to improve the human condition. Style and Ethics of Communication in Science and Engineering serves as a valuable aid in this pursuit--it can be used as a textbook for undergraduate or graduate courses on technical communication and ethics, a reference book for senior design courses, or a handbook for young investigators and beginning faculty members. In addition to presenting methods for writing clearly and concisely and improving oral presentations, this compact book provides practical guidelines for preparing theses, dissertations, journal papers for publication, and proposals for research funding.
Writing for Science by
Detailed chapters cover every type of science writing, from routine forms, such as laboratory notes, abstracts, and memoranda, to the more complex writing required in dissertations, journal articles, and grant proposals. Using numerous extended examples, the book offers students and professionals alike the thorough, practical advice they need to optimize the effectiveness of their written communications.
Chapter: Common Mistakes in Proposal Writing and How to Avoid Them IN: How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application by
Abstract: A key strategy in preparing a grant proposal is to think about the proposal from the perspective of a reviewer. Reviewers work very hard. Each reviewer is assigned a set of proposals that must be reviewed by a deadline, usually within just a few weeks. This work requires a great deal of concentration and reflection, and it also requires time taken from schedules that are already packed. The recommendations in this chapter are intended to help make proposals as reviewer-friendly as possible.
Creating Winning Grant Proposals : a step-by-step guide by
Providing clear-cut steps for producing each section of a competitive grant proposal, this hands-on book is filled with examples from actual RFPs and proposals, practical tools, and writing tips. Prominent educator and successful proposal writer Anne L. Rothstein shares a systematic process created over decades of experience in the field. She details how to: achieve group consensus around a project; identify likely funding sources; establish need; develop objectives; assemble a Master Project Table and other needed tables, figures, and charts; create an effective logic model; prepare an evaluation; put together a budget; tailor the proposal to meet the requirements of funders; and avoid common errors. Purchasers get access to a Web page where they can download and print the book's 14 reproducible templates in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size.
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing, 6th ed. by
In the sixth edition of our essential Guide, author Jane C. Geever provides detailed instructions on preparing successful grant proposals. Incorporating the results of 40 interviews with grantmakers across the nation, the Guide reveals their priorities in reviewing submissions and provides insight into what makes a winning proposal. The Guide outlines the entire proposal-writing process: Pre-Proposal Planning Tips-This helps you decide when your nonprofit is ready to raise funds and determine how to best define your project. Components of the Proposal-Review actual cover letters, project descriptions, budgets, and examples of important follow-up communications with prospective donors. Guidance from Grantmakers-Interviews highlight new trends in grantmaking: preferred proposal formats, funder cultivation strategies, tips on re-submitting a rejected request, and on how to capture and sustain a grantmaker's interest. To illustrate key points, excerpts from successful grant proposals are inserted throughout the Guide. And a complete model proposal is included in the appendix. An updated bibliography features selected resources on proposal development, including web and print sources. Three new chapters are added to address the impact of online innovations on the grantmaking process, and to provide additional insights and tips on the funders' "due diligence" proposal review process. Established in 1956, the Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to succeed. The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants-a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector. It also operates research, educations, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthrophy at every level. Thousands of people visit the Center's web site each day and are served in its five regional library/learning centers and its network of more than 450 funding information centers located in public libraries, community foundation, and educational institution nationwide and around the world. For more information, please visit foundationcenter.org or call (212) 620-4230. Book jacket.
How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application by
Over the last fifty years behavioral and medical research has been generously supported by the federal government, private foundations, and other philanthropic organizations contributing to the development of a vibrant public health system both in the United States and worldwide. However, these funds are dwindling and to stay competitive, investigators must understand the funding environment and know how to translate their hypotheses into research grant applications that reviewers evaluate as having scientific merit.The Second Edition of 'How to Write a Successful Research Grant Application' is the only book of its kind written by federal research investigators which provides technical assistance for researchers applying for biobehavioral and psychosocial research funding and can give them an edge in this competitive environment. The book provides invaluable tips on all aspects of the art of grantsmanship, including: how to determine research opportunities and priorities, how to develop the different elements of an application, how to negotiate the electronic submission and review processes, and how to disseminate the findings. Charts, visual aids, Web links, an extensive real-world example of a research proposal with budget, and a "So You Were Awarded Your Grant--Now What?" chapter show prospective applicants how to:- Formulate a testworthy--and interesting--hypothesis.- Select the appropriate research mechanism.- Avoid common pitfalls in proposal writing.- Develop an adequate control group.- Conduct a rigorous qualitative inquiry.- Develop a budget justification of costs. - Develop a human subjects of animal welfare plan.- Write a data analytic plan.- Design a quality control/assurance program. - Read between the lines of a summary of the review of your application.Although its focus is on Public Health Service funding, 'How to Write a Successful Research Grant' is equally useful for all research proposals, including graduate students preparing a thesis or dissertation proposal. Service providers in community-based organizations and public health agencies will also find this a useful resource in preparing a proposal to compete for grant funds from state and community resources, non-government organizations, and foundations.
Planning, Proposing, and Presenting Science Effectively, 2nd. by 
Chapter: Kline, S. F. Proposal writing. Pages: 72-93. IN: Research Methods for Leisure, Recreation and Tourism by 
Proposals That Work: a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals, 6th ed by 
Writing a Proposal for Your Dissertation: guidelines and examples by 
Writing Successful Science Proposals, 2nd ed. by
This fully revised edition of the most authoritative guide to science proposal writing is essential for any scientist embarking on a thesis or grant application. Completely updated and with entirely new chapters on private foundation funding and interdisciplinary research, the book explains each step of the proposal process in detail. Praise for the first edition: "This exceptionally useful and affordable handbook will serve as a refresher to seasoned writers and as a guide and source of encouragement for first-time authors."--C. L. Sagers, Ecology "This inexpensive book could prove to be your best investment of the year."--Bioscience
Writing to Win Federal Grants: a must-have for your fundraising toolbox by