Skip to main content
Michigan State University

International Media: Intl News Sources: Historical

Historical Foreign Newspaper Electronic Collections

Access World News, Research Collection.  Provides news coverage from 8,255 different sources, from 151 countries, and 11 source types.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale Cengage) : A full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. Sample newspapers include : British Journal, Daily Courant, Daily Gazetteer, Daily Post, Evening Post, General Advertiser, Lloyd's Evening Post and British Chronicle, London Chronicle, London Evening Post, London Gazette, Morning Chronicle and London Advertiser, St. James' Chronicle or, British Evening Post, Whitehall Evening Post, or London Intelligencer, and hundreds of others

19th Century British Library Newspapers via Gale : Provides researchers with the most comprehensive collection of national and regional newspapers of Victorian Britain available. This full-text, fully searchable digital archive includes 50 papers originating in England, Scotland and Ireland, carefully selected by an editorial board from the British Library and providing a broad yet detailed view of British life in the 19th century. The collection is made up of daily and weekly publications and reflects Britain's growing role as a superpower in the 19th century world. Sample papers include : Birmingham Daily Post, The Chartist, Freeman's Journal, Glasgow Herald, Goleuad, Illustrated Police News, Liverpool Mercury, Pall Mall Gazette, and many others.

Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) via Proquest Historical Newspapers

Daily Mail, English newspaper from 1896-2004 via Gale

Gale NewsVault. A portal for searching the following:

Illustrated London News Historical Archive (Gale). The Illustrated London News Historical Archive makes available for the first time online the complete searchable facsimile run of the the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1842 to 2003, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page.

Independent, English newspaper from 1896-2009 via Gale

Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2016 Archive : A major British daily national newspaper, launched in 1986 as an antidote to its often overtly politicised rivals. Its evolution over a quarter of a century has been considerable, but throughout that period it has retained a unique position in British journalism. Over the last 30 years The Independent has taken strong campaigning positions on issues such as the legalisation of drugs, the War on Terror and the environment – in the case of the latter, arguably doing so earlier and more frequently than any other paper. In British politics, it has been a strong advocate of electoral reform, arguing that the UK's first-past-the-post system and unelected House of Lords are not suited to a modern democracy.

International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013 (Gale) : Features the complete archive of the International Herald Tribune from its origins as the European Edition of The New York Herald and later the European Edition of the New York Herald Tribune. The archive ends with the last issue of the International Herald Tribune before its relaunch as the International New York Times. The International Herald Tribune Historical Archive 1887-2013 charts the history of the 20th century from luxury travel and opulent entertainment, to international conflicts, the spread of American culture abroad and globalization.

hIzvestia Digital Archive (1917-2010) (Eastview) : Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.

Jerusalem Post via Proquest Historical Newspapers (1950-1988)

North-China Herald (1850-1940) via Brill : The English North China Herald is universally acclaimed as the prime printed source in any language for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to the 1940s.  During this so-called ‘treaty century’ (1842-1943) the Great Western Powers established a strong presence in China through their protected enclaves in the major cities. It was published in Shanghai, at the heart of China’s dealing with the Euro-American world and a city at the forefront of developments in Chinese politics, culture, education and the economy. As the official journal for British consular notifications, and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, it is the first – and sometimes only – point of reference for information and comment on a range of foreign and Chinese activities.

Pravda Digital Archive (1912-2009) (EastView) : Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.

Shen Bao (1872-1949) (Eastview) : In Chinese.

Telegraph Historical Archive (1855-2000) via Gale : London newspaper. Launched in 1855, The Telegraph was the first 1d morning paper (The Times was 7d). By 1876, The Telegraph was the largest-selling newspaper in the world, with a circulation of 300,000. The newspaper was directed at a wealthy, educated readership and is commonly associated with traditional Toryism, despite its more ‘liberal’ beginnings. However, this shifted in the late 1870s, when the newspaper began to support British Prime Minister Benjamin Disraeli over the Eastern Question.... Under the editorship of poet and Orientalist Edwin Arnold from 1873 to 1899, the newspaper published widely on foreign affairs and foreign cultures. This led to The Telegraph’s coverage of Henry Morton Stanley’s expedition to Africa in search of David Livingstone, which it co-sponsored with the New York Herald in 1874. Its dedication to foreign news coverage was evidenced by its employment of several renowned special correspondents over the years; Winston Churchill, who reported from India in 1897, Rudyard Kipling, who braved the trenches of the First World War, and Clare Hollingworth, who, as the first female war correspondent, relayed the start of the Second World War from Poland.... During the twentieth century, The Telegraph cemented its reputation as a pioneering yet reliable source of news reporting. There was the infamous uncensored interview with Kaiser Wilhelm of 1908, in which the German chancellor successfully alienated Britain, France, Russia, and Japan. In 1942, the newspaper published the cryptic crossword puzzle responsible for recruiting Allied codebreakers during the Second World War.... The Telegraph’s commitment to lively copy was matched by its desire to position itself at the forefront of journalistic innovation; it published the first crossword to appear in a newspaper in 1925, the first television column in 1935, and became the first British newspaper to launch a website in 1994.

The Times of India (July 1, 1861-Dec. 21, 2003) via Proquest Historical Newspapers.

Times of London Digital Archive (1785 - 1988) (Gale Cengage) : Another unique resource for primary documents. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements, and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. If you need access to the Times of London after 1985, try the Periodicals Reading Room Newspaper Microfilm Collection.

African Newspapers (Readex), part of the Center for Research Libraries' World Newspaper Archive project, provides access to more than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Australian Newspapers (Trove, 1803 - 1954) : The National Library of Australia offers access to scanned images and text from historic Australian newspapers dating from 1803 to 1954. Long term project.

Belgian Newspapers Online : A digital collection of Belgian newspapers collected from federal centers eventually covering over 30 titles and spanning the period from 1831 to 1950.

Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876) via Readex :  Created in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society—one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories—this collection will provide students and scholars with easy access to more than 150 years of Caribbean and Atlantic history, culture and daily life. Featuring publications from 22 islands, Caribbean Newspapers will provide complete facsimiles of every available issue, including eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items. Most of these newspapers were published in the English language, but a number of Spanish-, French-, and Danish-language titles are also provided. Countries represented include Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Also found within this resource are newspapers from Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region and integrally related to its history.

Hemeroteca Digital. Biblioteca Nacional de España; : Consists of 143 titles which comprise 500.000 pages representing a wide variety of Spanish press of all types: political, satirical, technical, literary, sports, religious, etc., ranging from 1772 to 1933. Digitized by the National Library of Spain, this collection of periodicals and newspapers is the first phase of the Biblioteca Virtual Hispánica which aims to make publicly accessible Spain's bibliographic patrimony

Latin American Newspapers (1805 - 1922), (Readex) part of the Center for Research Libraries' World Newspaper Archive project, provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.

South Asian Newspapers, (Readex) part of the Center for Research Libraries' World Newspaper Archive project, provides access to the Ceylon Observe, Madras Mail, and other papers.

Historical Foreign Newspapers on Microfilm

Globe and Mail (Toronto). 1898-1914, 1971-present

Sunday Times (London). 1900-1904, 1904-1931, 1931-present

Times of London1906-present

Michigan State University