It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Links to full-text tables. Other publications available in MSU Libraries.
Single entry point to all United Nations statistical databases.
These resources provide national-level statistics on IT, internet and communications infrastucture, media access and use for print, TV and radio broadcast as well as cinema.
Points to consider when using these statistics:
UNESCO, ITU and other international government organizations rely on individual countries to report statistics to them, so data varies in availability and currency. For a single country, check the national statistical agency, as they may have more current or detailed statistics.
Media use and availability statistics are difficult to gather and interpret. Use them with caution.
Use the "Culture and Communication" section to find statistics on newspapers, TV and radio and cinema.
Note: as UNESCO relies on individual countries to report statistics, data varies in availability and currency.
The Global Market Information Database (GMID) contains over a million hard-to-find demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The historic and forecast statistics enable you to build detailed country profiles and analyse trends from 1977-2016. Includes statistics on IT infrastructure and users, press trends and literacy rates. Select "IT and communications" to access statistics.
eMarketer provides market research information about the Internet, e-business, online marketing, and emerging technologies. Includes analyst reports, daily research articles, and e-business and online marketing statistics.
One of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented.
Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 80 countries around the world. Includes polls from local U.S. areas. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues.