Michigan State University

Collection Development Policy Statement: Mathematics/Statistics

Factors Influencing Collection Policy

  1. Anticipated future trends

    The library is proactively collecting in more diverse areas to meet the research and instructional needs of new faculty. Adding research data is a potential step for this subject collection. For guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy.

  2. Relationships with other resources

    1. On campus branch or format collections, if any

      The Mathematics collection primarily supports research and graduate instructional needs in mathematics/statistics, but limited advanced undergraduate mathematics and statistics materials are provided. A small collection provides the elementary materials in mathematics/statistics.

      Mathematics education titles are selected by the education selector for Main. Mathematics education faculty in the Mathematics Department are heavily involved in the Connected Mathematics Project (CMP), funded by the National Science Foundation to develop a complete middle school curriculum for teachers and students.

    2. Research Data - particularly data that is not already openly available or that cannot/will not be placed in existing research data repositories - may be collected. For additional guidelines, please see MSU's Digital Research Data Collection Development Policy.

    3. The Business Library also collects actuarial materials as faculty interests have shifted. The Business Library is a primary collector of the mathematics of finance and commerce.

    4. Regional or network resources

      There has been an increasing reliance on getting more materials through interlibrary loan. The Big Ten Academic Alliance mathematics librarians discuss cooperative collection development at the Special Libraries Association Annual Conference each year. Collection development is done with cognizance of the comprehensive mathematical literature collection at the University of Michigan and the resources available at Wayne State. The mathematics collection at the University of Illinois is rated at a 5--Comprehensive Level, and considered a regional resource center in the Research Libraries Group.

  3. Relationships to resources treated in other policy statements

    The collection policy statement for mathematics/statistics is of necessity related to the collection policies for engineering, physics, business, and education.

Michigan State University