British Isles Online Primary Resources: Streaming Video
This is a guide to the major electronic resources M.S.U. Libraries has bought or is subscribing to about/from the British Isles. It can be used for literary, historical, political, or social/economic topics.
Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With thousands of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Academic Video Online: Premium allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Complete collection of Ambrose Digital Videos as of June 2016. Includes 37 of Shakespeare's plays from the BBC. Click on “Institutional Access” at the top. Up comes an alphabetical list of what is accessible to M.S.U., the subject categories. Click on the category to see a list of videos available on that topic. Besides the Shakespeare plays, this offers viewing on great British authors, great Irish authors, history of Christianity, history’s turning points (by date), radical Islam, more.
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. Includes Volumes I, II, III and Second Edition.
1950-1975 British and American original archival material from libraries, including manuscripts, typescripts, and ephemera, as well as video clips, are included. Includes new content for 2013 on popular entertainment, mass media and consumer culture.
1890s-1930s Silent Film Online brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts.
20th c. Module I, Wars & Revolutions. Module II, Newsreels & Cinemagazines. This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.