Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography all years
Long, scholarly biographical articles, with bibliographies, on famous, deceased Britons. Paper copy in Reference DA 28 .O95 2004 v. 1-60.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index (BGMI)
all years Biography and Genealogy Master Index (BGMI) indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Results of searches in this resource are citations to one or more biographical reference works that have a write up on the person you seek. You then need to look up that biographical work in our online catalog.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.