Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Eighteenth Century Journals, Part I-V
c1685-1815 Eighteenth-Century Journals contains rare English journals illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Many are ephemeral, lasting only for a handful of issues, others run for several years. Topics covered are extremely wide-ranging and include: colonial life; provincial and rural affairs; the French and American revolutions; reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe; political debates; and London coffee house gossip and discussion. Includes a few from India, the Caribbean, and Canada, as well as provincial England. Includes some titles that might be considered to be newspapers.
British Periodicals, Collections I and II
1681-1930s The nineteenth century was the great age of the periodical. Fiction, non-fiction, book reviews, commentary on world events and more are all to be found in the periodicals of the day. BPC I consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals, the equivalent of 5,238 printed volumes containing approximately 3.1 million pages. Disciplines covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. BPC II consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts together with additional titles, amounting to almost 3 million pages. Disciplines covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. You may search them all here or through the portal C19: The Nineteenth Century Index or through the Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Online. Links to both of those, below.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals 1824-1900
1824-1900 This is an index to the most significant 45, British, 19th-century periodicals. Our access is through the C19: Nineteenth Century portal or gateway. Once in, look for Wellesley Index along the right side. Search results link to full-text articles in many, if not most, cases. To search in more periodicals try Periodicals Archive Online. The print set Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 (Main Z 2005 .H6) is a 5-volume work that provides tables of contents of these periodicals from 1824 to 1900. MSU Libraries owns about half of the periodicals in either hard copy (books), online or on microfilm/microfiche. Victorian periodicals include book reviews, articles on current events, articles on governmental and foreign affairs, travel accounts, non-fiction topical articles, poetry, fiction (both short stories and whole novels, serialized), articles about scientific discoveries, reviews of theater and musical productions, and reviews of art exhibitions.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
19th century C19: The Nineteenth Century Index is a gateway, or portal, into a variety of primary sources for 19th Century studies, especially of the British Isles: books, periodicals, newspapers, government documents. Each resource or database may also be accessed/searched individually in the Electronic Resources pages: Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals,1824-1900,American Periodicals Series, Periodicals Index Online, NSTC, House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, Palmer's Index to the Times, Archives USA, U.S Congressional Serial Set. Results of searches in the Times newspaper, 1800-1870 link to full-text, as do most searches in Wellesley Index, APS, PIO, and House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. For results from NSTC searches, use our online catalog to see if we own the book.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive
1842-2003 The Illustrated London News Historical Archive makes available for the first time online the complete searchable facsimile run of the the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Every item ever printed in the paper, from 1842 to 2003, can be searched and browsed article by article and page by page. This journal is noted for its illustrations. Published in London, but its coverage is the world.
Economist Historical Archive
1843-2015 Full text of a British news periodical noted for its political, economic, and international affairs coverage.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals, Modules I and II
19th-21st centuriesFrom its roots as an Anglican evangelical movement driven by lay persons, this resource encompasses publications from the CMS and the latterly integrated South American Missionary Society. Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter. Module I is comprised of periodicals published by the Church Missionary Society and South American Missionary Society from 1804-2009. Module II contains periodicals and annual reports published by the Church Missionary Society and its auxiliaries, and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society, from 1816-1986. Documents are indexed by places (region, city, and mission station), countries, names and key search terms.
Country Life Archive
1897-2005 Country Life is a weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. Every page is fully searchable, and reproduced in full color and high resolution. Country Life Archive presents a chronicle of more than 100 years of British heritage, including its art, architecture, and landscapes, with an emphasis on leisure pursuits such as antique collecting, hunting, shooting, equestrian news, and gardening.
1938-1957 Picture Post Historical Archive
Corresponds to the print set, which is in Special Collections Remote Storage, AP 4 f.P575, because its condition is very poor. An illustrated, popular magazine about life in England during these years.