Skip to Main Content
Michigan State University

British Isles Online Primary Resources: Home

This is a guide to the major electronic resources M.S.U. Libraries has bought or is subscribing to about/from the British Isles. It can be used for literary, historical, political, or social/economic topics.


The purpose of this research guide is to highlight the many electronic resources about, or from, the British Isles that M.S.U. Libraries has bought or is subscribing to, in order to make them more visible and to encourage their use. 

England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland compose the United Kingdom (UK), which is one part of the British Isles.  Eire, the Republic of Ireland, an independent country, is another part of the British Isles.  The Isle of Man, the Channel Islands, Guernsey and Jersey, are part of the UK, as are Sark, the Scilly Isles, the Isle of Wight, Anglesey, the Orkneys, the Shetlands, the Isle of Skye, and the Inner and Outer Hebrides. 

The arrangement is mostly by format/type of material; notice the gray tabs across the top of the guide. Arrangement within the sections is roughly by dates of coverage.  Provides very brief scope notes.