This is the "Purpose or Scope of Collection" page of the "Collection Development Policy Statement: Military and Naval Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Collection Development Policy Statement: Military and Naval Sciences  

Written by: Michael E. Unsworth Date Drafted: January 1986 Date Revised: June 16, 2000
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/content.php?pid=90121 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Purpose or Scope of Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Purpose or Scope of Collection

A. Curricular/Research/Programmatic needs

Military and naval sciences are interdisciplinary by their very nature; they have aspects in the arts, sciences and social sciences. While the "U" and "V" classes have the smallest number of works in the Libraries' collections, related works are present throughout all of our holdings. Thus, this collection development policy statement has an impact on the development of other subject fields. The scholarly users of military and naval works are diverse. In examining the student population, a major group is the Air Force and Army ROTC cadets. Other sizable populations are those studying foreign relations, history, political science, and engineering. In terms of faculty usage, those in the social sciences are the most frequent users, followed by those in the humanities, ROTC, and science departments (in that order). Finally, there are a small but constant number of community researchers in the utilizing the collection. Based on examination of the return shelves, the condition of books, and discussions with library and teaching colleagues, the military and naval areas are heavily used for recreational reading by the three user populations. In summary, military and naval works support the activities of other fields. There are no plans to build up our military holdings.

B. History Of The Collection/Existing Strengths And Emphases.

Past support of the "U" and "V" collections has been geared to provide basic materials. English language works predominate. The periodicals in it are few, but are the most important ones in their fields. There are many British imprints and topics since they reflected our past concentration on British studies. Strategy, nuclear warfare, intelligence, conscription, air warfare and Soviet forces have been the topics, which have received the most attention. Works on uniforms and equipment receive high use, probably from recreational readers. Other military areas and the entire naval area have basic collections.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip