This is the "Home" page of the "Environmental Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Statistics  

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/environmentstats Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EPA Envirofacts

 

Search Environmental Websites

Custom Search

Statistical Indexes & Databases

  • Major Statistical Indexes & Databases
    Link to guide with descriptions of the major multidisciplinary subscription statistical indexes and databases at the MSU Libraries
  • Data-Planet
    This is a powerful interdisciplinary database that assembles statistical information from government and private sources in one single interface.
  • Statista
    Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on over 80,000 topics from more than 10,000 different sources including agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more.
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations.
 

About this guide

Sources of statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive; rather, it provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources. This guide includes both freely available WWW resources as well as library subscription resources and print materials.

Please use Ask A Librarian, visit the Main Library Reference Desk if you need further assistance, or contact the authors of this guide: Hailey Mooney, Data Services Librarian or Jon Harrison, Environmental Studies Librarian.

Related Guides:

 

Getting Started: General Sources and Compendiums

Statistical Abstract of the United States - U.S. Census Bureau
Call number: C 3.134: or HA202. Print copies available 1878-present in multiple locations.
An annual publication offering statistics from federal agencies and numerous state, local, and non-governmental statistics.

Geography and the Environment
This section presents a variety of information on the physical environment of the United States, starting with basic area measurement data and ending with climatic data for selected weather stations around the country. The subjects covered between those points are mostly concerned with environmental trends but include related subjects such as land use, water consumption, air pollutant emissions, toxic releases, oil spills, hazardous waste sites, municipal waste and recycling, threatened and endangered wildlife, and the environmental industry.

Energy & Utilities
This section presents statistics on fuel resources, energy production and consumption, electric energy, hydroelectric power, nuclear power, solar energy, wood energy, and the electric and gas utility industries.

Forestry, Fishing, and Mining
This section presents data on the area, ownership, production, trade, reserves, and disposition of natural resources. Natural resources is defined here as including forestry, fisheries, and mining and mineral products

 

Subject Specialist Librarian

Profile Image
Hailey Mooney

Social Sciences Collections Coordinator

Profile Image
Jon Harrison
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip