Skip to main content
Michigan State University

Major Statistical Indexes and Databases: Introduction

Description of the major multidisciplinary subscription statistical indexes and databases at the MSU Libraries

Related Guide

Library Databases that provide Shapefiles or georeferenced files
Some datasets purchased by MSU Libraries have GIS-ready functionality. This guide links to several resources with the ability to export data or images to Shapefile, GeoTIFF or GeoPDF formats.

About this guide

This guide provides information about the major subscription multi-disciplinary statistical indexes and databases available through the MSU Libraries. It does not include non-subscription statistical databases such as American Factfinder, UNData, World Bank Open Data, etc.

The following general statistical databases are profiled:

  • Historical Statistics of the United States
  • PolicyMap
  • ProQuest International Datasets
  • ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
  • ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
  • SimplyMap
  • Social Explorer
  • Statista

Additional subject-specific statistical databases are available in the Libraries' general E-Resources collections and from the Business Library E-Resources, including but not limited to the following list:

  • Ad$pender
  • Automotive News Data Center
  • Bloomberg
  • BusinessDecision
  • China Data Center
  • Datamyne
  • DemographicsNow
  • Indiastat
  • International Financial Statistics Online
  • LandScan Population
  • OECD iLibrary Statistics
  • Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
  • Simmons OneView (Simmons Study of Media and Markets)
  • UN Comtrade
  • WardsAuto.com Premium
  • Wharton Research Data Services
  • World Bank E-Library

Please consult additional subject-specific research guides for other resources, or ask a librarian.

Subject Guide

MSU Libraries
  • Call MSU: (517) 355-1855
  • Visit: msu.edu
  • MSU is an affirmative-action, equal-opportunity employer.
Michigan State University