This is the "About our Mergent Databases" page of the "Mergent Databases Introduction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mergent Databases Introduction  

Last Updated: Jul 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/mergent Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About our Mergent Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

What are the Mergent Databases?

  • Mergent EventsData
    **Access is allowed for only five users at a time.**
    Mergent EventsData provides information on stock-splits, mergers, tender offers, partial/full calls, name changes, etc. EventsData message feeds enable users to capture and analyze breaking business developments as they occur. EventsData consists of five modules: corporate actions, corporate dividends, fixed income, municipal called bonds, and unit investment trusts.
  • Mergent Horizon
    Provides comprehensive coverage of companies--their products, major customers, suppliers, partners, and industries. Covers all companies traded on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ. Includes enhanced detail for companies in healthcare, tech, media, and finance.
  • Mergent Online
    **Access is allowed for only two users at a time.**
    Provides comprehensive company data for U.S. and International public and private companies (~35,000 public companies and ~23 million private companies) , including SEC filings (US only) and current and historical annual reports for U.S. and International public companies. To search the ~23 million private companies, select D&B Private Company Database.
  • Mergent WebReports
    Provides online access to the vast archive of corporate and industry related documents found in the printed volumes of Moody's/Mergent Manuals back to the early 1900s.
 

What are the differences between the databases?

Mergent Online has basic information on public and private U.S. and International companies. It is the equivalent of the current Mergent manuals. It includes company financials, subsidiaries, capital stock (ex. dividends and splits), executive officers, insider traders, SEC filings, company news, company annual reports, competitor information, equity and corporate bond portraits, and industry reports.

Mergent Horizon goes much more in depth and is more data rich than Mergent Online. However, it is mostly focused on U.S. companies. It includes much of the same information and more including suppliers, customers, and products/services. Horizon also has the ability to create reports like Merger and Acquisition Scenario Report Builder (what would happen if two different companies were to merge), Competitors by Product Report Builder, and Company Profile Report Builder (highlights a company's products and services and key business relationships). It will also give indepth information on an industry including financial data, performance, companies that are gainers/decliners, and business relationships.

Mergent WebReports is made up of historical information for U.S. and International Companies. It is the digitized version of many Moody's/Mergent manual titles: Bank & Finance, Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, Public Utility, Transportation and OTC Unlisted. It is text heavy with information similar to Mergent Online but for companies in the past. It goes back to the early 1900s.

Mergent EventsData delivers real-time and historical information about events affecting public U.S. and International corporations. These events include dividend declarations, corporate milestones, and leverage acquisitions. It replaces a number of our print titles including Mergent Dividend Record, Mergent Unit Investment Trusts, and Mergent Bond Record.

Business Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Breezy Silver
Contact Info
Michigan State University
Gast Business Library
Law College Building
648 N. Shaw Lane, Room 50
East Lansing MI 48824-1300
(517) 432-4181
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip