This is the "Home" page of the "Transportation Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Transportation Statistics  

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2012 URL: http://libguides.lib.msu.edu/transtats Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Statistical Indexes & Databases

  • LexisNexis Statistical Insight
    Indexes and abstracts statistical publications from the US government, state governments, international organizations, and professional associations. Please consult this guide for instructions on how to access materials that are not already digitized by LexisNexis.
  • LexisNexis Statistical DataSets
    LexisNexis Statistical DataSets is a powerful interdisciplinary database that assembles statistical information from government and private sources in one single interface. It aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes 14 billion data points accessible. Researchers are able to manipulate datasets, make comparisons, chart trends over time and spatially represent data without having to use additional software programs.
  • FedStats
    Gateway to statistics and data access tools from more than 70 U.S. federal agencies.
 

Research Data

Data Archives
Data archives contain raw data files that are used for secondary analysis in research.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Premier social science data archive.  Relevant subject terms include: transportation, public transportation, traffic, etc.

 

About this Guide

Sources of statistical information are held throughout the Michigan State University Libraries. This guide is not comprehensive; rather, it provides information on a selection of some of the most important general sources. This guide includes both freely available WWW resources as well as library subscription resources and print materials.

Please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk (floor 1 Center) if you need further assistance, or contact the author of this guide (listed to your right).

 

Getting Started: General Sources & Compendiums

Bureau of Transportation Statistics
The Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) is a division of the Research and Innovative Technology Administration of the U.S. Department of Transportation.  The BTS compiles, analyzes, and publishes statistical information on U.S. transportation systems.

National Transportation Statistics
An annual compendium that presents statistics on the U.S. transportation system, including its physical components, safety record, economic performance, the human and natural environment, and national security.  This is a large online document comprising more than 260 data tables plus data source and accuracy statements, glossary and a list of acronyms and initialisms.  Older editions available in print and microfiche.

Pocket Guide to Transportation
Gives a condensed overview of transportation statistics.

Statistical Abstract of the United States - U.S. Census Bureau
Call number: C 3.134: or HA202. Print copies available 1878-present in multiple locations.
An annual publication offering statistics from federal agencies and numerous state, local, and non-governmental statistics.

Transportation
This section presents data on civil air transportation, both passenger and cargo, and on water transportation, including inland waterways, ocean-borne commerce, the merchant marine, cargo, and vessel tonnages. This section also presents statistics on revenues, passenger and freight traffic volume, and employment in various revenue-producing modes of the transportation industry, including motor vehicles, trains, and pipelines. Data are also presented on highway mileage and finances, motor vehicle travel, accidents, and registrations; and characteristics of public transit, railroads, and pipelines.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
Go to Chapter Df: Transportation.  Includes an essay on the history of transportation in the United States and tables on all modes of transportation, roads and vehicles, water, rail, air, and pipelines.

Subject Specialist Librarian

Profile Image
Hailey Mooney
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip