Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

HST 201: History of Ecology (Montgomery, Fall 2018): Primary sources at the MSU Archives

How do I search the archives?

There are two ways that you can search the MSU Archives for materials on the history or campus spaces:

1. The MSU Library Catalog

  • Go to the MSU Library catalog and select "Advanced Search"
  • Next to the "Collection," limit your search to "University Archives and Historical Collections." This will restrict your search to only materials in the MSU Archives. 

 

2. The MSU Archives website

  • Visit the MSU Archives website and search through the finding aids for their archival collections. 
  • You can also visit their Collections page to read up on the different types of collections and materials that are available at the archives.

Digitized Primary Sources

On the Banks of the Red Cedar (MSU Archives) contains digitized material from the MSU Archives collection. You can search by keyword, decade, format, or browse exhibits and collections. 

Darwin Correspondence Project (University of Cambridge) contains digitized correspondence with Charles Darwin, including correspondence with William Beal. 

How do I view materials?

If you would like to view the materials in any of these collections, you can contact the MSU Archives and talk to an archivist about the materials you'd like to see, and to set up a time to visit. 

MSU Archives

Conrad Hall, rm. 101

archives@msu.edu

Michigan State University