LibGuides: HST 201: U.S. Social Movements (Bonilla, Fall 2018): Digital Primary Source Collections

MSU Radicalism Collection Online

A selection of material from the American Radicalism Collection at the MSU Libraries has been digitized and made available on our website. Visit the Digital Collections: American Radicalism page to see what's available and view the material.

What are primary sources?

Primary sources provide direct or firsthand evidence about an event, person, place, or object. These sources are contemporary to the events and people described. In the context of historical research, primary sources are sources that were created during the specific period being studied.

Digitized Primary Sources

Alternative Press Index and Archive This link opens in a new window
Covers journals, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the database was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
Archives Unbound Collections This link opens in a new window
Includes material on Native American radicalism, Black Nationalism, federal surveillance of radical movements, grassroots civil rights movements, and international radical movements.
Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. during the 1920s. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers.
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the 20th Century This link opens in a new window
Political Extremism and Radicalism in the Twentieth Century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It has been sourced from distinguished libraries and archives across the world but also premiers some previously hidden treasure troves. Includes content from MSU's American Radicalism Collection, among other sources.

Studies in Radicalism Online (SiRO)
SiRO is an online platform that aggregates radical material and other research materials related to the study of radicalism from around the world. The material available in SiRO covers both left- and right-wing radical movements, and includes material from MSU Special Collections, the Labadie Collection at the University of Michigan, Illinois State University, and the Digital Public Library of America.