Skip to main content
Michigan State University

HST 201: U.S. Social Movements (Bonilla, Fall 2018): Radicalism Collection

American Radicalism Vertical Files (ARVF)

The American Radicalism Vertical Files (ARVF) contain an extensive collection of pamphlets, flyers, clippings, leaflets, and other ephemeral material. It is especially strong in its holdings on the New Left movements of the 1960s, especially SDS and Vietnam anti-war material. This collection also contains a significant amount of material on Michigan-based radical and activist movements, including strong holdings on the East Lansing Peace Education Center, the Lansing Area Peace and Justice Coalition, and several student groups and unions at MSU. 

You can browse our vertical file holdings by searching for "ARVF" in a catalog call number search, or to search for material in ARVF on a specific topic, search your chosen keyword and "ARVF".

What is the Radicalism Collection?

The American Radicalism Collection documents the history of radical groups in the United States from the late 19th century to the present. It includes material from both left-wing and right-wing groups and covers a wide range of political, economic, and social ideologies. It contains books, posters, flyers, pamphlets, underground newspapers, magazines, and more. 

Some of the topics that are covered in the Radicalism Collection include:

  • Anti-war protests
  • Student activism
  • Communist and socialist movements
  • Labor history
  • Black power and black nationalist movements
  • American Indian Movement and Native American rights movements
  • Communes
  • white nationalist groups
  • Neo-nazi organizations
  • KKK

If you're interested in a particular topic or have any questions about the material in the collection, please contact Special Collections or visit us in the MSU Library at our Reading Room desk on the 1st floor.

Michigan State University