Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These are some selected resources that may be helpful for you. If you have any difficulties accessing or using these resources, please contact me, my contact information is on the right. I'm happy to help however I can.
General Academic Sources Databases
These are citation indexes. That means they do not always have direct links to the articles, etc. You can find them by journal in the catalog or use ILL if we do not have the journal in question.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Find citations for a broad range of scientific literature (including patents) and track, analyze and visualize citations by document, author, zip code, or institution.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes the Institute for Scientific Information Citation Indexes - Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. It indexes science, social sciences, and arts and humanities information from nearly 9,300 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the full text of journals in anthropology, Asian Studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, and sociology. Years available vary with each title, but the most recent issues available in JSTOR will be 4-5 years old.
More specialized databases
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1930- (with selective coverage back to the 1860's)
The most comprehensive index to journal articles on architecture and design in the United States, including many not indexed by any other source. More than 700 scholarly, popular, professional, regional, and international journals are included to cover architectural design, history and practice, landscape architecture, historic preservation, interior design, city planning and more.
Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
The Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index is a popular and scholarly index to over 300 journals on gardening, horticulture, landscape design, botany, ecology, plant conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of fulltext dissertations and theses since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for earlier periods. Includes MSU dissertations and theses.
Resources for Census and Other Data
An easy to use mapping tool which includes census and other demographic data, quality of life information such as grocery store availability and transit times.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
***Access is allowed for only five users at a time. It is necessary to create a free personal account to access this resource.***
A web-based mapping tool that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using powerful demographic, business, and marketing data. Includes MRI Consumer Survey, Claritas PRIZM, and SimmonsLOCAL data.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports from selected census statistics. 1790 to 1930: County, state and national data. 1940-2000: Census tract, county, state and national data. 2006- : ACS. Also includes religion data, U.S. Election data, UK Census 2011 data, and Ireland Religion data. Generate thematic maps for census tracts.
Primary Sources: Selected Newspaper Databases
Historic Newspaper Databases
Contains a wide variety of newspapers and news sources. Exact newspaper resources vary depending on city/place. Allows for city search. Resources extend back to 1972.
Not all resources in this collection are freely available, but many are.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Includes the full text of: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Boston Globe (1872-1985), Chicago Tribune (1849-1993), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003), Detroit Free Press (1831-1999), L.A. Times (1881-1993), Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922), Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922), SF Chronicle (1865-1922), New York Times (1851-2013), Wall Street Journal (1889-1999), Washington Post (1877-2000). It also includes historical black newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) New Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Finally, it contains these aggregators: "Ethnic NewsWatch" (1959-present) and "ProQuest Civil War Era" (selected newspapers and pamphlets from 1850-1870). PLEASE NOTE: I suggest using the Publication tab/ In publication summary search option to look for publications which relate to specific cities.
Public database of U.S. newspapers from 1789-1924.
America's Historic Newspapers
A database containing a large number of newspapers across North America. Many newspapers in this collection are not in English. Using the Places of Publication - U.S. - Selecting a state and then expanding the list of publications for that state will allow you to see if a specific city has a newspaper in the database. Then you can use the search box to search within the publication for specific search terms.
Modern Newspaper Databases
A broad search which includes newspapers. In order to narrow the search to newspapers, hit advanced search and deselect all options but newspapers. Then for source try adding your city name to see what specific resources are available.
Contains current and some back articles from a variety of newspapers, including The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, AJC (Atlanta), Tampa Bay Times.
A note: Often times it is easier to find the newspaper you are interested in online and then search within it for modern stories. Some newspapers do not offer full search capabilities without a subscription. There is a way around this! You can do a Google search for the URL of the newspaper and the search term you are looking for. For example searching on:"http://www.startribune.com/ Twin Cities rental market" will pull up articles from the Star Tribune on the rental market in the Twin Cities.
If you need a book or journal article that MSU does not own (e.g. you cannot find it in the catalog) you can request the item by Interlibrary Loan. Our interlibrary loan system is called Illiad, and can be accessed via this link. Note: you will need to make a new account to use Illiad.
Our interlibrary loan request form.
MSU has a large collection of planning reports, with a strong focus on Michigan. Most planning reports have been cataloged in the library online catalog, including some online reports. Most, but not all, are located in the Planning Reports Collection in the main library, on the 3rd floor of the West Wing.