Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Michigan State University

Africana Special Collections at MSUL: Home

A guide to using the resources on Africa available in MSUL Special Collections.

About this guide

This guide is designed to introduce you to the Africana Special Collections held at MSUL. It is organized by material type, with various geographies and themes represented across medium. Information on how to access these materials can be found in the tab Using Special Collections. 

African Studies Subject Guides

About Africana Special Collections

The Africana Collection of the MSU Libraries is one of the largest in the United States, having been built since 1960 to support broad faculty involvement in research and development projects on the continent. An integral part of MSU Libraries' Africana collections are its Special Collections, which help to make one of the world's largest Africana collections also some of the more unique and valuable for academic research. 

The Libraries' collection development policy for Africana Special Collections is outlined in the Collection Development Policy statement. 

Digital collection from Africana

MSUL's Digital Repository has a growing collection of digitized collection from the Africana collections in our Special Collections. Find digitized material in the Repository: https://d.lib.msu.edu/

Need Assistance? Contact Me!

Erik Ponder's picture
Erik Ponder
Contact:
African Studies Librarian
MSU Libraries
366 W. Circle Dr. (E 224B)
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-884-0838
Michigan State University